Top_Nav_v2_Font
GUEST
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address:
18
Kitchen & Entertaining
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 91 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good for a while... We purchased the ice maker about 8 months ago. For the first few months we liked it. The only negatives we had was that the ice melted quickly and the entire interior of the ice maker is plastic . They should really have added some cooling vents inside this thing to keep the ice from melting so fast. They could have made the water compartment and ice tray stainless steel or aluminum as well. After about 3 months of use one of the water level sensors began to rust. Now the entire water chamber is stained with rust and the sensor is covered in rust. Now just a few weeks ago the ice level sensor has failed and the ice maker overflows with ice until all the water is used up in the water chamber. We're still waiting on a response from the manufacturer as to how to get the unit repaired. For the price we paid for this ice maker I would hope it would have lasted longer than 8 months. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. September 13, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed The machine does not store the ice very long. If you don't transfer the ice to a freezer, it will melt inside the ice maker. December 30, 2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Melting impression The ice maker makes ice quickly but does not keep the ice frozen. It melts quickly in the holding tray, December 28, 2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disapointing Purchase Was excited to have this for our outdoor kitchen area..but dissapointment set in almost immediately. Ice melts sitting in tray and sticks together, shape of ice was a surprise..small half egg shapes with a hole half way through..I should have examined the picture more closely...three sizes of ice are all small..the larger size of the cube takes too long to make and more water. Truly a slave to it..to make sure there is enough water and to get it out so it keeps making ice..once you empty it..its like starting a cycle all over before it starts making new ice. July 14, 2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by doesn't keep ice cubes frozen This ice maker is beautiful, but doesn't keep the ice frozen... so the ice slowly melts and it has to make new cubes with the melted ice. Also, it doesn't make and store a lot of ice. It just seems like a lot of machinery to store 1 or 2 trays of ice that melt over time. I can only imagine how much electricity it is using. This machine is just not worth the trouble. July 11, 2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Will do. I can't say this ice maker is exactly what we expected. I'm still not sure it will fill the need. It makes a good bit of noise when ice is dumping and processing, so it needs to be somewhere in the home where that is not an issue. February 5, 2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by waiting for ice It took over 2 1/2 hours to make a small container of ice. The ice was the medium size, not the large size which would have takeen even longer. I sent it back for a refund. July 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by didn't work failed to make ice after first 2 trays, would not pump water into chamber. tried several times and same thing would occur, 2 trays then none. item returned June 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will not work as it should. Even with distilled water and salt added, the machine gives cloudy Ice. The Machine fails to keep the Ice frozen once made and keeps melting and re making Ice?? Ice is not cold enough and melts fast in drinks? June 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Slow and small I was disappointed by this itema nd in fact retuned it. The process was much clower than I anticipated and the volume of ice produced was very small...this would not work well for our large family gathering/Holiday entertaining. October 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Purchase We were very disappointed in this ice maker. After cleaning the inside of the ice maker, making about 6 batches of ice cubes and throwing them away - just to make sure there were no contaminants, the ice cubes tasted like a chemical and the inside of the ice maker smelled very odd. We think it had a chemical smell. We returned it. It looked very good! August 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not impressed For the cost, the ice maker was way less then I expected. The machine's craftsmanship and over all quality is well below standard for the price. It's flimsy and seems cheaply made. As I unpacked the unit, two screws fell out from inside the machine. Its described as stainless steel but its more like grey plastic. The manufacture's label was half peeled off, paint on the lid was showing wear and it is incredibly noisy. However, it does produce ice quickly. June 9, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Reliability Failed after only rare use over a 1.5 year period. It was extremely well cared for and kept clean and in a safe environment. Despite that, the electronics failed and it is now an expensive doorstop. Due to heavy weight it is cost prohibitive to send in for repair. Would not recommend. July 31, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did not work After setting up the icemaker, it did not work. The water did not get cold and I concluded that something must be wrong with the cooling unit. I called customer service for the icemaker (not Frontgate) and after a couple of prompts, received technical support. A voice mail indicated that I had to leave a message, but then another message that the mailbox was full. After trying several days I called Frontgate and will exchange the one I have. I will re-rate the new one when received and update this review. For now, I have to rate it poor. May 17, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Trying second one Returned as it would not get cold enough to freeze solidly the ice cubes. Called the manuf. and they said I should call Frontgate but that they should freeze solid and not stick together when taken out of the ice maker and put in the freezer. Second one arrived last night and I have not plugged it in yet to see if it works. September 8, 2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth the money and work It turns out 25 lbs of ice over 24 hours is not much. You can buy 20 lbs for less than $5 and not have to be a slave to filling water, bagging ice and then storing up ice. $300 goes a longer way if you just buy a freezer and pick up 100 lbs of ice before you entertain. September 8, 2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by WHAT???????? Way too loud....dont recommend inside of the house. Might be ok outside but it is so loud inside. Very dissapointed. Way too small also. My ice dispenser in my freezer holds more ice than this does. Dont waste your time! August 24, 2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unhappy I thought the system would perform better. The ice continues to taste like plastic and the system makes this loud noise that will not stop. I am in the process of returning the ice maker. I would not recommend this ice maker for purchase January 15, 2010
  • 2016-05-01 T06:09:08.519-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_91, tr_91
  • loc_en_US, sid_13894, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4
(6 Questions : 9 Answers)

Product Q&A

Get help about this item from fellow customers. Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Have not purchased this Ice Maker unit yet but the Instruction Manual nor any of the product descriptions actually mention what the 3 different sizes are in inches or if they are different shapes. It seems the shape is a round tubular ice pellet hollow through the center, is that an accurate description? What are the exact sizes? Half inch long, 1/2 inch long?
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Dallas, TX, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about SizeMattersInBigD is loaded.
Additional information about SizeMattersInBigD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
thank you for your interest in the portable Ice Maker. We are confirming the size and shape options of the ice cubes and will update you as soon as possible.
2 years ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the portable ice maker. The three cube shapes are;
Round at the bottom
Flat at top
Bullet shaped
And the three size options are:
Small 0.917 inches
Med. 0.996 inches
Large 1.076 inches
1 year, 11 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
does it have a removable ice bucket so I could dump it into a cooler?
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about GMFD is loaded.
Additional information about GMFD could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
The Portable Ice Maker does have a removable ice bucket.
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the Portable Ice Maker. We are looking into this information for you. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
From the picture it looks like there is a hole in the one shown. Correct?
4 months, 4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Texas, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Celticgirlintexas is loaded.
Additional information about Celticgirlintexas could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Yes there is a whole. I have not selected the others. The cubes are a perfect size for a cocktail.
Length of Ownership: < 1 year
2 months, 4 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Georgia, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Goodtime is loaded.
Additional information about Goodtime could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in the Portable Ice Maker. This item makes on shape of ice in small, medium, and large size. The ice shown in this item does have a hole in it.
4 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JLFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JLFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about jenni123 is loaded.
Additional information about jenni123 could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The Portable Ice Maker has an insulated compartment where the ice is stored, however the compartment is not refrigerated so the ice will melt over time (similar to a cooler).
2 years, 9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
West Chester, OH, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about JHFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about JHFrontgateService could not be loaded.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Length of Ownership: 2-5 years
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Michigan, USA
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about Soiree is loaded.
Additional information about Soiree could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0

Answers

Answer: 
Please call our product specialist department at 1-800-537-8484 so we can better assist you in troubleshooting your portable Ice Maker
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
Read all my Q&A
 
Please wait while more information about MLRFrontgateService is loaded.
Additional information about MLRFrontgateService could not be loaded.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 next>>
  • 2016-05-01 T06:05:59.055-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_13894, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
Product:13894-Portable Ice Maker
0
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???