Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

Portable Ice Maker

Kitchen & EntertainingHome
[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address
18
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
Portable Ice Maker is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 104.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed in weight and size Looks nice but weighs about 38 pounds so I did not think it was very convenient to be labeled as portable. Also, it was somewhat bulky. The finish does not hide fingerprints at all. I returned it unused so I cannot speak to the quality of function
Date published: 2014-06-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Portable ice machine I like how quickly ice is made, but wish it stored the ice once it is made. I have to put unused ice into my freezer.
Date published: 2011-08-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ice maker It does make ice quickly. It is just very loud and ice melts quickly if you don't remove it as soon as it dumps!
Date published: 2011-07-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Portable Ice Maker The only thing is that the machine doesn't maintain the ice very well and melts fairly quickly.
Date published: 2011-06-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from event coordinator Machine arrived promptly. Not quite what I thought it was from the description in the catalog, but works. Said it made 20# of ice in 24 hours, but neglected to say that it only stores 2.5# at a time, thus you need to remove the ice and store it in bags if you need 20# to start off your event. Convenient on the table top for a small party.
Date published: 2011-06-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed Loved the concept, but the machine was way too loud.
Date published: 2011-01-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from unit is too noisy. stored ice melts. seems to constantly be operating.
Date published: 2010-06-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jury is Still Out Today is Monday and we set the Portable Ice Maker up on Friday Night. The ice is great, and we like that we can use whatever kind of water we wish. I did get up in the middle of the night and noticed a noise up on the second floor of the house. While the ice maker is a floor and a half below, it runs intermittently to keep the ice frozen and the noise (which is louder than any refridgerator) seems to travel throughout the house. As an occassional outdoor ice maker, it is great. Near the bar in our den, was probably not the best idea. Also the venting on the machine makes selecting a location a bit challenging. I can not yet comment on the quality or the durability.
Date published: 2010-06-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not so portable This ice maker is far from portable. We bought it thinking we could take it camping and make ice so we wouldn't have to buy bags for the cooler. This thing is far from portable. It's to heavy to move often. The ice cubes are way to small for coolers. If it wouldn't cost me an arm and leg to mail it back, I'd return it. Guess we'll keep it for parties. We were disapponted with the ice maker.
Date published: 2010-05-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Portable Ice Maker The second ones seems to work great, the first one had to be returned at a cost to me. I would think twice before purchasing.
Date published: 2010-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok it works surprised how quickly ice will melt when not used.
Date published: 2009-11-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth the money Read reviews to get the size of the ice cubes. Couldn't find any so I bought the machine to see for myself. Even the largest size is just unacceptable. About the size of my thumb with a hole in the middle. The ice maker is extremely noisy! I made a couple of rounds of ice. It's true that it is pretty fast, but the ice melts almost as fast if you don't get it out and put it in your freezer. I returned it today. Only hoping that I'm not going to be dinged too much on the return shipping.
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth the money It takes longer than it says it does to make ice. It does not keep it frozen and it is quite heavy. It is loud.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ice Maker The ice making process of this is good but it doesn't keep the ice frozen after it's made. I thought I would be able to make ice and keep it in the ice maker for days/weeks and use it whenever. We had to make the ice and then bag it to put in our freezer. That's ok if you want to do that but I'll just buy ice from the store.
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't Make Hard Ice The ice maker makes soft, wet ice. It is not hard.
Date published: 2012-12-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good for a while... We purchased the ice maker about 8 months ago. For the first few months we liked it. The only negatives we had was that the ice melted quickly and the entire interior of the ice maker is plastic . They should really have added some cooling vents inside this thing to keep the ice from melting so fast. They could have made the water compartment and ice tray stainless steel or aluminum as well. After about 3 months of use one of the water level sensors began to rust. Now the entire water chamber is stained with rust and the sensor is covered in rust. Now just a few weeks ago the ice level sensor has failed and the ice maker overflows with ice until all the water is used up in the water chamber. We're still waiting on a response from the manufacturer as to how to get the unit repaired. For the price we paid for this ice maker I would hope it would have lasted longer than 8 months. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.
Date published: 2011-09-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed The machine does not store the ice very long. If you don't transfer the ice to a freezer, it will melt inside the ice maker.
Date published: 2010-12-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Melting impression The ice maker makes ice quickly but does not keep the ice frozen. It melts quickly in the holding tray,
Date published: 2010-12-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disapointing Purchase Was excited to have this for our outdoor kitchen area..but dissapointment set in almost immediately. Ice melts sitting in tray and sticks together, shape of ice was a surprise..small half egg shapes with a hole half way through..I should have examined the picture more closely...three sizes of ice are all small..the larger size of the cube takes too long to make and more water. Truly a slave to it..to make sure there is enough water and to get it out so it keeps making ice..once you empty it..its like starting a cycle all over before it starts making new ice.
Date published: 2010-07-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from doesn't keep ice cubes frozen This ice maker is beautiful, but doesn't keep the ice frozen... so the ice slowly melts and it has to make new cubes with the melted ice. Also, it doesn't make and store a lot of ice. It just seems like a lot of machinery to store 1 or 2 trays of ice that melt over time. I can only imagine how much electricity it is using. This machine is just not worth the trouble.
Date published: 2010-07-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Will do. I can't say this ice maker is exactly what we expected. I'm still not sure it will fill the need. It makes a good bit of noise when ice is dumping and processing, so it needs to be somewhere in the home where that is not an issue.
Date published: 2010-02-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Loud This ice maker is very loud. You need it in a room ou don't use. I didn't know the ice melts after a while so is constantly making more alas... More noise.
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sad Product was not work when we received it. It took over a month to be sent out and then I could use!!!!!
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Frontgate quality Had high hopes since have had great experience with Frontgate. Purchased the ice maker in summer with gift card received from previous Frontgate purchases however did not use till Christmas. Ice maker takes up a good amount of counter space, makes ice slowly in very small batches and if allow batch to sit in machine while making more the cubes melt and fuse together. After trying machine three times gave up... it took a ridiculous amount of time with not much results. Much better to go to local store and buy bag of ice!! Do not buy!!! Trying to figure out what to do with it- feel bad throwing it away!
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from waiting for ice It took over 2 1/2 hours to make a small container of ice. The ice was the medium size, not the large size which would have takeen even longer. I sent it back for a refund.
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from didn't work failed to make ice after first 2 trays, would not pump water into chamber. tried several times and same thing would occur, 2 trays then none. item returned
Date published: 2013-06-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will not work as it should. Even with distilled water and salt added, the machine gives cloudy Ice. The Machine fails to keep the Ice frozen once made and keeps melting and re making Ice?? Ice is not cold enough and melts fast in drinks?
Date published: 2013-06-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Slow and small I was disappointed by this itema nd in fact retuned it. The process was much clower than I anticipated and the volume of ice produced was very small...this would not work well for our large family gathering/Holiday entertaining.
Date published: 2012-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Purchase We were very disappointed in this ice maker. After cleaning the inside of the ice maker, making about 6 batches of ice cubes and throwing them away - just to make sure there were no contaminants, the ice cubes tasted like a chemical and the inside of the ice maker smelled very odd. We think it had a chemical smell. We returned it. It looked very good!
Date published: 2012-08-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not impressed For the cost, the ice maker was way less then I expected. The machine's craftsmanship and over all quality is well below standard for the price. It's flimsy and seems cheaply made. As I unpacked the unit, two screws fell out from inside the machine. Its described as stainless steel but its more like grey plastic. The manufacture's label was half peeled off, paint on the lid was showing wear and it is incredibly noisy. However, it does produce ice quickly.
Date published: 2012-06-09
  • y_2017, m_4, d_21, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_98
  • loc_, sid_13894, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate

does it have a removable ice bucket

does it have a removable ice bucket so I could dump it into a cooler?
Asked by: GMFD
Yes it does. You also remove it to pour the water into the machine.
Answered by: Kimberly73
Date published: 2016-08-27

Does the unit keep the ice frozen after it makes it?

Asked by: jenni123
Yes it does. Whatever melts goes back into the reservoir and is made back into ice.
Answered by: Kimberly73
Date published: 2016-08-27

States you can select from 3 different cube size options. What are the actual sizes?

Have not purchased this Ice Maker unit yet but the Instruction Manual nor any of the product descriptions actually mention what the 3 different sizes are in inches or if they are different shapes. It seems the shape is a round tubular ice pellet hollow through the center, is that an accurate description? What are the exact sizes? Half inch long, 1/2 inch long?
Asked by: SizeMattersInBigD
Thank you for your interest in the portable ice maker. The three cube shapes are; Round at the bottom Flat at top Bullet shaped And the three size options are: Small 0.917 inches Med. 0.996 inches Large 1.076 inches
Answered by: MLRFrontgateService
Date published: 2014-05-12

Do you fill it with water until the red light goes out even if it goes over the basket?

Asked by: Enewman
No. Stop at the line so it doesn't go over the basket. If the icemaker doesn't restart, add a pinch of salt.
Answered by: CCTN
Date published: 2017-04-07

What are the three different ice shapes?

From the picture it looks like there is a hole in the one shown. Correct?
Asked by: Celticgirlintexas
Yes there is a whole. I have not selected the others. The cubes are a perfect size for a cocktail.
Answered by: Goodtime
Date published: 2016-04-02
  • y_2017, m_4, d_21, h_18CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_7
  • loc_, sid_13894, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
Product:13894-Portable Ice Maker
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]