Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address

18
100 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1007.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puppies saved from the precipice As our Boston Terrier got dementia, bad eyesight and other mobility problems, she lost the ability to go down stairs. The 22"H Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate Barrier saved her from the perils of our open layout condo and its staircases, protecting her from the risks of falling and the inevitable seizures that followed. We were happy to find a preventative that was also not a plastic baby gate. Thanks Frontgate!
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Gate I've purchased two of these gates and love their appearance, durability and stability. The door latch is easy to use and the expandability of the gate is very useful. It's very sturdy. It's not something you'd expect to be complemented on, but we've had several visitors admire it. I recommend this gate highly over the other 34" gate that has rails rather than mesh.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally found the perfect pet gates I recently bought 3 of these gates and installed them yesterday. They are and look great!! Easy to assemble, sturdy, beautiful. My three dogs aren't too happy about it, especially the German Shepard, so are my Chow and pit mix. These gates are the highest out there! My regret is not discovering these gates before!! No cons!!!
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Gate! This gate is beautiful and works well. It is easy to open the gate, and heavy enough that our goldendoodle cannot nose around it or knock it over. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous gate I already owned two other gates from Frontgate, so it was no surprise when this gate came and it was exactly as described. It is a good looking, sturdy gate, which mounts easily (though instructions were not good) and opens and closes easily. At first I thought that the height was unnecessarily tall, but the height is nice in that it makes it easy for adults to walk through without having to bend over to work a latch. When extended to fit a 36" doorway there are 3" spaces on either side of the uprights---which is definitely enough to let a puppy through. If the gate is in an even wider doorway, those will be wider as well, which is a point to consider. This can be seen in the catalog picture, so it should not be unexpected. In our case we were able to place pieces of wood in this space temporarily to narrow the spaces until the puppy grows. This completes my puppy-proofing, but if I did need another gate I would choose this product again. It's a great gate at a good price.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best BY FAR! I have been purchasing pet gates for close to 20 years and this is the best one I have ever seen /purchased! I dare say I will NEVER need to replace this one. Suck it up and pay the price, it will be less expensive in the long run because I seriously think it's going to last forever!
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect addition We needed something a bit more permanent than using the old fashioned mesh gates. This is a beautiful piece, it was an easy install. Our small dog can get through the smaller door. It fits in perfectly with our home decor. It was a very good buy. Thank you.
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST PET GATE EVER! This is the best pet gate that you can ever buy. It is very easy to put together. Small dogs (I'm not sure about big dogs) cannot knock it over nor jump over it. The door works great. I absolutely love this gate so much that I have bought two. The only thing wrong with this gate is that it is considered a signature item. So if you have a coupon for a discount even if it says on all items, IT WILL NOT WORK ON THIS GATE NOR ANY OF THEIR SIGNATURE ITEMS! I CONSIDER THIS TO BE UNFAIR AND UNJUST TO THE CUSTOMER.
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good purchase This product is exactly what I was looking for. Good quality and beauty.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Beautiful I have an older home with some odd sized doorways and openings. Tired of trying to get cheap pressure point baby gates to fit the openings, I decided to get two of these when I saw they were on sale. Wow, are they gorgeous! They look almost like fireplace screens and everyone who has seen them has commented on how beautiful they look. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.
Date published: 2016-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Purchase Beautiful and well-crafted dog gate. It is sturdy, functional, and attractive. Am buying another for a different room. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality These pet gates cannot be found anywhere else, for the quality and durability. I have had some of mine for years and they are still in excellent condition. They keep the dogs in without having them inside a crate which I will never do. I know they are expensive but worth every penny.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful dog gates We now have 4 of these controlling access of our three english bulldogs. Tall and sturdy enough to keep them in or out of areas but low enough that we can step over them easily. They look great and we are completely satisfied.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet gate This gate is absolutely perfect. I've had several different gates and this one tops them all.
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Moraga Mike Steel free standing gates are well made and look great. So much style, strong as well and easy to move when we don't need them. Storage is also not bad fit great in our laundry room.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pretty and functional Perfect for keeping my new puppy in an emclosed area.
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy Not only is it elegant sturdy, and well made... It was worth every penny that I paid.
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from doggie gate we had an unusual place to use a dog gate and as soon as I saw this free standing one...i ordered it. Its so nice and heavy duty...it works perfect for where we needed it. I would have liked it to come in other colors or finishes...but it was worth refinishing...for the perfect use. I also really liked how the sides moved to ease of entering and exiting without even having to move it...this gate had all my dilemmas covered !! One negative ...if you want a review...make it easier to sign in...my nickname is two letters...get over it!
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb Pet Gate It arrived 3 days ago and I couldn't wait to install it as our dogs destroyed the previous gates. Firstly, it was extremely easy to assemble (and I'm not handyman). Secondly, it is substantial (heavy) and cannot be easily moved. Lastly, it looks as good as it does on the website. It adds to the house decor. All and all, I couldn't be more pleased. I feel that the money that I wasted on two less expensive gates was, just that, a waste of money. Kudos to Frontgate for providing a quality, good looking gate.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great little gate We just purchased this gate for our cavalier puppy. It is substantial and looks expensive. You can use the rivet holes to select the size of the gate (like you would a belt), or you can leave the two pieces unattached, as we did, to be able to slide one of the pieces to the side for easy access into the next room. The two pieces stand up on their own very well and are heavy enough that a small dog (or baby for that matter) wouldn't be able to move it. Very happy with the purchase.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Gate We've Ever Bought Sturdy and attractive. This is the third gate in this style that we've purchased from Frontgate. It looks great and does the job, keeping our cats away from our new puppy and vice versa. Highly recommend. Assembly is simple.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Gate ever I bought this gate to replace the one I purchased in 2009. (Although this time I got the taller one with the gate.) Since the gate is used in an outdoor patio, lasting more than 5 years outside is great. As a matter of fact, the gate is so good looking that it is an "approved" one to use at our condo complex.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and sturdy This gate was easy to assemble. Very tastefully appointed and sturdy. This is a gate I would highly recommend.
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME THE DOOR WORKED GREAT. LOOKED GREAT. KITTY DOOR HOLE WAS TOO BIG AND OUR MID SIZED DOG GOT THRU. FIX WAS TO CUT THE MESH IN THE KITTY DOOR AND DUCT TAPE TO AVOID SHARP EDGES, FIXED THE PROBLEM. WOULD BUY ANOTHER ONE SHOULD ONE BE NEEDED SOME WHERE ELSE. THANKS FOR A SOLUTION TO OUR KITTY/DOG PROBLEM.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gate swing is reversed in picture Beautiful product and I love it, but the gate swing is on the opposite side in the picture.Picture shows dog coming through LEFT side of fence . We bought the shorter fence without the gate a year ago and decided to get one with a gate for a different doorway in the room which we use more often, Because the actual gate is on the RIGHT facing the fence, it did not work as well where we planned to use it, so we are using the shorter gate there and have put the new gate in the first doorway. Both gates are attractive and well made and we really like them. The larger one really requires two people to put it together.
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poorly manufactured in China The product looks good on the website but when it arrived, I found out one of the side panels had a hinge welded too high and as a result this caused the leg to be in the air rather than flush on the floor. I'm returning the order and they better not charge me for the shipping.
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS GATE!!!!!! I can't remember the last time I was this happy with a mail order. This gate is EXACTLY what we needed. We have twin granddaughters and two dogs. One of my dogs is a Houdini and I was worried about the gate not being not being heavy enough and that she would be able to push it over or move it. She absolutely cannot move this gate. I love that it does not touch the walls as the tension mounts going on and off the walls causes marks on the walls over time. I also love the door for us to go in and out of as opposed to climbing over to go in and out of the room. And another highlight is that it is attractive and not an eyesore. I highly recommend this gate.
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate I have two small dogs and a new wool carpet. I purchased two gates because one was just about a foot shy of the opening between my living room and dining room where I need to contain my dogs. The gate is good quality and nice to look at. The door is easy to open for access. I am very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 42inch Tension mount gate I bought this gate 1 year ago to keep my 3 lb yorkie in my kitchen when I am away from the house. It is a beautiful gate and the I love it. I did have to make an adjustment to the side because it has some opening on the sides that she could get thru. I just had my husband cut a 2x4 piece of would and painted it the same color as the gate , problem fixed. I used the wood between the wall and gate to fill in the space some so she could not get out. I love this gate and the style looks great in my home. The gate is spring loaded and you can not just leave it open which is fine for us. I just open the small door on the bottom for my yorkie. She loves her little door since she is still 3 lbs and can not get up on things. I recommend this gate to people with xs pups The mesh part is wonderful and beautiful
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful gate I bought this gate a year ago for my yorkie She is 3 lbs This is great for her she can not get over it. This is not a walk thru but I use it for a second door from my kitchen I love it because it is mesh The only thing that would make it better would it to be a walk thru I can step over it but I have to be very careful to get my leg high enough
Date published: 2016-01-18
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_50, tr_957
  • loc_en_US, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 56ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Can we get extentions for the sides?

We have a 73" opening and would like to get this gate but want to know if there is any extentions available on the sides to make up the 4" that we need to keep out the cats?
Asked by: gigibuckeye
Thank you for your interest in the 34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate. Unfortunately, we do not offer any extensions for this pet barrier.
Answered by: MZFrontgateService
Date published: 2014-06-26

I want to use this between 2 walls that both have moulding at the bottom. Will this work?

Also, how do I handle a width that is 64" since it only expands by 2" at a time?
Asked by: mamalinda
Thank you for your interest in the 34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate. As long as the space it is going will be between 55"-69"W, the gate will fit. For a space of 64", you would need to set the gate at 63".
Answered by: MZFrontgateService
Date published: 2014-06-26

I want to mount this on the first stair with opening of 37 1/4" Can it be done in a way that cats can open the door to go upstairs? I

Asked by: ohflorida1
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. Both doors on the gate must be manually opened.
Answered by: MZFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-10-21

Are the side panels included in the max. 40"/70" widths or can I use the smaller version to close a 5' opening if I leave the side panels at an angle?

How long is the smaller version with the two side panels straight with the center panels? Or, when the gate is placed flat on the floor, how long is the entire gate (panels flat as well)? Is that how you measure the maximum widths (small 40" and large 70") with the side panels included in the measurement?
Asked by: jab99
Wider gate can expand to 72" wide with side panel remaining perpendicular for support.
Answered by: cjohio
Date published: 2013-10-21

our door is 32 inches wide, thus, this gate will not fi??

Asked by: doglover99
It will fit fine
Answered by: mainedogowner
Date published: 2016-07-23

If a door opening is 48" wide, will this gate be able to adjust to fit?

The description states that the opening is 55" wide, so I am concerned about whether or not it could adjust smaller.
Asked by: ttbrown6
It will not be able to fit an opening 48" wide. I tested mine to see if I could make it fit, and it would not.
Answered by: Anonymous
Date published: 2013-10-21

Outdoor Use?

Can this gate be used outdoors on a covered porch
Asked by: DgAa
I would say yes as long as the patio is covered. The gate is very sturdy and heavy, I think it would also hold up to wind.
Answered by: Anonymous
Date published: 2013-10-21

How strong is the mesh?

Asked by: DawnRAT
The mesh is very strong
Answered by: LTP2
Date published: 2013-10-21

Does the door swing both ways? How does it latch?

Asked by: 5BigDogs
The door swings inward only. It close behind you with a nice latch. When you mount it, you will need to make sure the spacing is even on both sides for the latch to close. I love ours. Picture below with our 4 Dalmatians
Answered by: Parker
Date published: 2017-06-05

How wide is the gate? I see it is 22" H and 17 3/4" deep but I don't see the width measurement.

Asked by: Kay
You will see the width when you select the size. It comes in two sizes, 28"-41" and 40" -70".
Answered by: RTJSPCTC
Date published: 2013-10-21

Can 2of these gates be successfully put together to accommodate a larger opening?

Asked by: Elvis
Yes
Answered by: RTJSPCTC
Date published: 2013-10-21

Will this fit into a 36 inch opening or is the minimun 42 inches?

Asked by: JosephF
Yes, but you need to get the 28"-41" size. 42" would be the widest opening this size would fit into.
Answered by: RTJSPCTC
Date published: 2013-10-21

Can this gate be attached to the walls so it does not slide forward or back & is there an extension available?

The gate would be placed above stairs so I want to secure to the walls - does the gate include holes/hardware to attach ends to a wall? 2) Is there any way to make the gate wider?
Asked by: virionalla
No and no
Answered by: Anonymous
Date published: 2013-10-21

How wide is this product? I am looking for a gate for an opening of only 27 inches. Do you have anything that will work for such a small opening?

Thank you in advance. Helene
Asked by: Charlierose
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Gate. The gates width ranges from 33-1/2"-37-1/2"W. We do offer the 20"H Freestanding Barrier(item 30191) that has a width ranging from 27"-40"W.
Answered by: MZFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-10-21

does this gate have a walk thru door for humans?

Asked by: Muffet
No you step over it, but it's only 22" high so it's doable for most :)
Answered by: EAngel
Date published: 2013-10-21

gate depth top vs bottom

what are he depth deminsions of the top of the gate versus the bottom of the gate?
Asked by: danrx3
Front foot extends out about 6". The side fence is about 10" long. Hope that helps.
Answered by: lemon
Date published: 2015-07-03

4 ft opening

We have a 4ft opening from our kitchen into our living room that we would like to install a gate that would keep two VERY strong 25 lbs dogs out of the living room. Would this gate be able to fit into that opening?
Asked by: 2dogs
The gate will fit the opening. My 75 lbs dog did not try to go through the gate. Kept out two strong toddlers though.
Answered by: lemon
Date published: 2013-10-21

What do the footings look like and how are hardwood floors protected from being scratched by the footings?

Asked by: gardencats2
The footings are very attractive and mine are on my hardwood floors and do not scratch your floors. The gates are barely 30 pounds and can be lifted even by myself being disabled. The best thing I can advise is to lift them, not drag if your concerned about your floors, but my floors have not one mark from my gates. You may ant to apply a felt stick on pad just for GP if that eases your mind. The gates match my dining room so beautifully, that I no longer even remove them like the older ugly baby gates I had because they are so decorative and people have noticed them as they enter my home and fall in love and want them for themselves.
Answered by: mygirlgeorgia
Date published: 2014-05-25

I want to use this gate at the top of the stairs, has anyone used at top of stairs without wall for it to lean against?

Asked by: tmag
We installed ours on the top of some stairs and to make it very stable, I cut two blocks of wood (4" X 4" X 7" L) to slide under the legs and this made the fully opened gate extremely strong. I stained them brown to match the stairs and they are almost invisible beneath the metal legs. Even opening and closing the door is easier and can be done with one hand now.
Answered by: AZCoach
Date published: 2013-10-21

The opening is not straight across-it's about 7" offset, would this work?

Asked by: Lucysmom
yes, the gate slides so you can angle it to cover the space.
Answered by: RDN1
Date published: 2013-10-21

gate latch

is the gate latch easy to operate with your hands full? does it lock top and bottom? And does the latch operate both or do you have to stoop down to unlatch the bottom? Is the gate easy to scoot if the dog tries to push it? Our little Yorkie often moves the gate we have now, so we are looking for a heavier one.
Asked by: Cricketsmomma
I find the latch very easy to open- there is only one latch at the top of the gate so no stooping required. I doubt that a Yorkie will be capable of moving this gate. It is very sturdy metal construction. We have a lab/basset hound mix puppy who currently weighs about 25 lbs.
Answered by: PAdogowner
Date published: 2014-06-26

i really like the look of this product can i get it in 72", or add extensions?

Asked by: aacarman
We purchased the gate for a 71" opening and although it's technically 68-1/2" with the extension in, it seems to work fine. Of course, our dogs are giant breed. If you have extremely small dogs, they may be able to "squeeze" through the small space on the side.
Answered by: Nesie
Date published: 2015-05-31

What is the mess made of?

How durable is the mesh? My dog jumps up and scratches and am concerned on how easily it can be torn
Asked by: Mina
very durable ..i do not think of it as mesh at all
Answered by: sophie11
Date published: 2013-10-21

Will this gate fit a 42" opening?

With many pet gates I've found that they won't fit odd length openings, and I'm very keen on this one. However I'm worried it won't fit since there isn't any information listed on how it expands. Will this fit a 42" doorway? Thank you!
Asked by: PomeranianOwner
Yes. We have it in an area that is between 41 and 42 inches wide.
Answered by: HZFshops
Date published: 2013-10-21

I have an 84" opening. If I buy 2 barriers, can I combine them and attach panels/pieces to fit that wide an opening?

Asked by: KJake
I'm not 100% sure of this, but I think you could attach an extra panel due to the adjustable nature of the gate. I don't know if extending too much might make it flimsy. Save your receipt just in case it doesn't work.
Answered by: LNMART
Date published: 2013-10-21

I see a "gap" from the end of the gate to the wall. Is is wide enough for a skinny/small dog to squeeze through?

Asked by: Alisha
We have a very tiny 4 lb dashhound that can fit through everything and she can not fit through this opening. I was worried at first too but took chance and we love it!
Answered by: TanMan
Date published: 2013-10-21

Can this gate be used on stairs

I have several cats and I want to keep them from going upstairs in my home.
Asked by: Chloe4631
The gate has to be mounted correctly before the latch will stay closed. If you can create enough tension using a stair rung and the wall, (or whatever you will be attaching it to) then I think it would be perfect!
Answered by: jemstar2
Date published: 2017-07-30

Would this product work as a baby gate? We want to block our crawling baby from the cat food & litter area, but not block the cats.

Asked by: webcollins
I would be wary of a crawling baby or toddler getting their head stuck in the cat door....
Answered by: jemstar2
Date published: 2013-10-21

Can the cat door be secured so a dog cannot push it open?

Asked by: AussieMom
I was thinking of using the twist tie that came with the gate to secure the cat door. Twist and cut short on the outside to prevent pet scrathes... I think my cat might learn to play with the lever and simply lift it up and don't trust just that latch. Give that a try!
Answered by: jemstar2
Date published: 2013-10-21

can the gate go on the other side (right)

Asked by: Anonymous
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Answered by: GreensboroNC
Date published: 2013-10-21
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_134
  • loc_en_US, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 49ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]