Top_Nav_v2_Font
[headerTopEspot]
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address

18
100 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1011.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS GATE!!!!!! I can't remember the last time I was this happy with a mail order. This gate is EXACTLY what we needed. We have twin granddaughters and two dogs. One of my dogs is a Houdini and I was worried about the gate not being not being heavy enough and that she would be able to push it over or move it. She absolutely cannot move this gate. I love that it does not touch the walls as the tension mounts going on and off the walls causes marks on the walls over time. I also love the door for us to go in and out of as opposed to climbing over to go in and out of the room. And another highlight is that it is attractive and not an eyesore. I highly recommend this gate.
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate I have two small dogs and a new wool carpet. I purchased two gates because one was just about a foot shy of the opening between my living room and dining room where I need to contain my dogs. The gate is good quality and nice to look at. The door is easy to open for access. I am very happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 42inch Tension mount gate I bought this gate 1 year ago to keep my 3 lb yorkie in my kitchen when I am away from the house. It is a beautiful gate and the I love it. I did have to make an adjustment to the side because it has some opening on the sides that she could get thru. I just had my husband cut a 2x4 piece of would and painted it the same color as the gate , problem fixed. I used the wood between the wall and gate to fill in the space some so she could not get out. I love this gate and the style looks great in my home. The gate is spring loaded and you can not just leave it open which is fine for us. I just open the small door on the bottom for my yorkie. She loves her little door since she is still 3 lbs and can not get up on things. I recommend this gate to people with xs pups The mesh part is wonderful and beautiful
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful gate I bought this gate a year ago for my yorkie She is 3 lbs This is great for her she can not get over it. This is not a walk thru but I use it for a second door from my kitchen I love it because it is mesh The only thing that would make it better would it to be a walk thru I can step over it but I have to be very careful to get my leg high enough
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful pet gate! We purchased this gate to block the areas that our dogs need to avoid. We have a home that doesn't have children so we have nicer things now. This gate definitely exudes the style fit for a nice home. It is sturdy, as well. I have no worries with my guests seeing this gate with the lovely attention to detail. The sweet pups are safe and sound while we are away and the home still looks lovely and stylish. Thanks FrontGate!
Date published: 2016-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gate, great buy! This gate is beautiful and exactly what we expected from seeing it in the catalog. Easy to assemble and looks beautiful in our home.
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gate! This item looks perfect at the entrance to our dining room to keep our dogs off the carpet. The quality is excellent and very sturdy and stable.
Date published: 2016-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase ever! Saved our wood doors. Purchased this awesome barrier to contain our 4 rescues ranging in size from 8 to 25 pounds whenever necessary, yet still allow them to feel part of the action so they don't bark or scratch behind a closed door. This is a beautiful yet sturdy barrier. It's very durable, even our little scratcher doesn't damage the metalwork. And it's very stable when positioned correctly. It's also tall enough so our dogs and cats do not attempt to jump over. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too short for my poodle puppies Very heavy and sturdy; however, my 3 month old poodles were able to jump over it. Too short. Disappointed, wasted money, Too heavy to return.
Date published: 2015-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality gate This is a quality gate. Attractive and it works so well. Easy set up. Love it…love it…love it….
Date published: 2015-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expectations exceeded! We just received this gate. It was easy to assemble requiring only the one tool included. I had it up and in place in minutes. I am very impressed with the quality look, and construction. I did not realize that the gate has the spring loaded closing feature. I love that and the way it latches itself. The color is very tasteful.
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty I purchased the pet gate to keep a puppy in the kitchen area. The gate is beautiful, however, It does move if you let the door shut on its own. I keep having to move the gate back against the side walls.
Date published: 2015-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great item if the size works for you My wife had been wanting some kind of divider to close off her spanky living room from the cats, one of which loved the soft cushions so much she'd still sleep on them even wrapped in plastic trash bags. The bags sure did not make the spanky room look so spanky anymore. We often toss the Frontgate catalogs because their prices tend to be high—but not so with this item. Even with shipping this was a great value because it solved a problem we'd been having for a couple years (since moving into our new home.) The gate works great, is very well constructed, stout and stable. The coloring works in our home... overall a great product at a reasonable price.
Date published: 2015-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase for new home Just moved to a new home and needed a dog gate that would match the decor and not look like the typical dog gate. Very happy with the purchase and qualityof the item
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and pretty! This is a beautiful way to keep your pets out of places you do not want them to go. Much prettier than a baby gate!
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Gate! Useful to keep large cats out. I am using the gate to keep out one "large" cat from mingling with the others. Interestingly enough, since at the sides of the gate there is some space, the "thinner" cats can easily slide in through the sides, whereas the larger cat cannot - perfect for what we needed. The gate is sturdy, beautiful to look at and opens only one way. It is self closing (so helpful!). No matter that the door may "slam", it doesn't jar the gate off the door. None of my animals push against it but I can't imagine that a medium sized dog can push it out of place. Maybe a large dog with effort can?? Anyway, it's a great gate for a good price.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quality gate I replaced a competitor's gate with this one for it's more appealing design. Other than purchasing a custom piece, this gate fits nicely within the decor of our living space.
Date published: 2015-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indoor gate is fabulous! I ordered this gate after seeing great reviews and needing a gate that can contain a Lab in a room with a wide entryway. I've struggled to find a gate that doesn't completely damage walls, doesn't quite fit the door opening, and doesn't fit non-square doorways and stairways. THIS GATE IS FANTASTIC! It's really stable in it's free-standing mode, is heavy and sturdy but not too heavy for me to move to block different rooms to keep my dog in different spaces based on our needs. It's a bit more expensive but ABSOLUTELY worth it. And it looks great.
Date published: 2015-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gate! After renovating my master bedroom (including new wood floors and bedding) I wanted a way to keep my two Cavalier Spaniels in my master bath at night but did not want to close the door (they won't make a fuss as long as they can see me in bed!). This gate is perfect! It is sturdy and heavy enough to keep them out of the bedroom. It's not too heavy though - I can easily move it in the morning when I want to let them out. And it looks nice, too. I couldn't be more pleased with this gate.
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant gate for your pet We have had so many people comment on this gate regarding its appearance. It is elegant for what it is used for. The only thing I would say we've run into is sometimes our guests in our home would go through the gate and trip over the bar at the bottom of the gate opening. We have dark slate floors so it blends into the floor if you're not watching where you are stepping. Other than that, we have gotten used to telling people to watch their step. Other than that, it is beautiful and very functional. No regrets!
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Made We were looking for a classy gate for our home and this caught our eye. It is beautifully made with quality and style. Highly recommend this!
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gate The gate was beautiful. Strong, sturdy, and yet elegant. I took one star because gate was not long enough and there are no options for additions. Gate had to be returned.
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great decision I searched and searched for a pet gate to keep our five cats out of the upstairs loft. Our home is open design with a sweeping staircase, so I wanted something tall enough to keep the more athletic of the cats from jumping over and the less athletic of the troupe from simply climbing over AND I wanted something attractive as well. This freestanding steel mesh gate does the job - beautifully - and there was no need to permanently install anything into the walls. A win/win all around!
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate The gate has worked out perfect. Family very impressed but dogs not so happy. They are off my screen door and no longer jump as we go outside. Gate is easy to assemble, door opens eay. Only CON I have is that I cant change the position of the swinging door to the opposite end.
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice ... Looks Great This gate is very sturdy. I like the swing gate on it to have easy access into the room that is blocking my two golden retriever puppies from getting in. It looks expensive and doesn't cheapen the look of our home. So, I am happy to have ordered it and was so happy to have gotten the free shipping code. Front Gate has first class interior decor and exterior decor. Love the catalogs. Will order from you again. Thank You!!
Date published: 2015-09-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be better I bought this because I liked the looks and it was tall. I did read reviews and understood the shortcomings before I got it. My hall is 37 inches wide. You can install this for 37 inches but it is very unstable and leaves a 4 inch gap on either side - a small dog can get thru or a big dog can get his paw or part of his head thru. My 40 pound dog ran right thru it within an hour. We installed a 4x4 on one side to make the hall size 33 and now it fits well and is sturdy. We do have a door stop to keep the gate open when we want it and you have to be careful about the ledge ..have tripped several times. Overall, it looks nice and works but it could be better, especially for the price
Date published: 2015-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnificent Quality and remarkable beauty beyond what picture is able to display. Distressing around both edges of frame was gorgeous and genius. Thank you!
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a fabulous gate This is a high quality gate that looks great. Excellent finish. Easy to put together. I usually do not write reviews, but this looks so great in my house I wanted to tell others. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2015-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Pet Gate My only regret with this purchase is that I did not find it sooner. It's stylish, but most importantly completely functional. My dog is an Italian Greyhound/Chihuahua mix and he could easily scale all other pet gates I tried before. Not this one! It's great because he can stay on "his side of the fence" but still feel like he can see into the real world on the other side. The little doggie door within the gate is a great feature for those times when he's able to come and go at will. There's no way he can scale this - and his a very prolific jumper. I would highly recommend this gate to anyone - it's very, very, very sturdy - and attractive!
Date published: 2015-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST MADE PET GATE EVER I purchased this pet gate because of the height and the durable steel construction of the entire gate. I have a small dog that can jump over most indoor gates and this one has been a life saver. Only non positive feature that I could list is that it should be available in a shorter width. My husband works with metal and was able to cut it down to the width that I needed. It looks great, like it was delivered that way. There is not a better pet gate available for purchase anywhere.
Date published: 2015-08-07
  • y_2017, m_11, d_24, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_50, tr_961
  • loc_en_US, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 354ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Will this gate fit a 42" opening?

With many pet gates I've found that they won't fit odd length openings, and I'm very keen on this one. However I'm worried it won't fit since there isn't any information listed on how it expands. Will this fit a 42" doorway? Thank you!
Asked by: PomeranianOwner
Yes. We have it in an area that is between 41 and 42 inches wide.
Answered by: HZFshops
Date published: 2013-10-21

I have an 84" opening. If I buy 2 barriers, can I combine them and attach panels/pieces to fit that wide an opening?

Asked by: KJake
I'm not 100% sure of this, but I think you could attach an extra panel due to the adjustable nature of the gate. I don't know if extending too much might make it flimsy. Save your receipt just in case it doesn't work.
Answered by: LNMART
Date published: 2013-10-21

I see a "gap" from the end of the gate to the wall. Is is wide enough for a skinny/small dog to squeeze through?

Asked by: Alisha
We have a very tiny 4 lb dashhound that can fit through everything and she can not fit through this opening. I was worried at first too but took chance and we love it!
Answered by: TanMan
Date published: 2013-10-21

Can this gate be used on stairs

I have several cats and I want to keep them from going upstairs in my home.
Asked by: Chloe4631
The gate has to be mounted correctly before the latch will stay closed. If you can create enough tension using a stair rung and the wall, (or whatever you will be attaching it to) then I think it would be perfect!
Answered by: jemstar2
Date published: 2017-07-30

Would this product work as a baby gate? We want to block our crawling baby from the cat food & litter area, but not block the cats.

Asked by: webcollins
I would be wary of a crawling baby or toddler getting their head stuck in the cat door....
Answered by: jemstar2
Date published: 2013-10-21

Can the cat door be secured so a dog cannot push it open?

Asked by: AussieMom
I was thinking of using the twist tie that came with the gate to secure the cat door. Twist and cut short on the outside to prevent pet scrathes... I think my cat might learn to play with the lever and simply lift it up and don't trust just that latch. Give that a try!
Answered by: jemstar2
Date published: 2013-10-21

can the gate go on the other side (right)

Asked by: Anonymous
No. You would have to turn the whole gate around to get the door on the Right side. Depending on your opening it could be done. The back side of the gate is not ugly. It is just not as finished as the front side.
Answered by: GreensboroNC
Date published: 2013-10-21

Does this 42 inch meat gate come in wider widths? I need it to be at least 52 inches

Asked by: Lender
It is 42" TALL not wide.
Answered by: ITSALLGOOD
Date published: 2017-08-15

width?

I'm still not clear on how wide the area can be? Someone said it is for openings up to 47". Another person said he expanded his to 47" with a few inches to spare. I want to know the maximum opening size this gate will work with.
Asked by: KRM6
We appreciate your interest in this item. This gate is adjustable and can accommodate openings as small as 32 inches and can accommodate a maximum opening of 48 inches.
Answered by: KMFrontgateService
Date published: 2014-07-05

width???

How wide does the gate expand? Thank you Sonya
Asked by: shopgirlfive
I expanded it 47 inches...with a few more inches to spare if needed.
Answered by: Anonymous
Date published: 2016-11-28

What is the height of item 46128?

In the catalog I just received the height is shown as 33 3/4" but on the web sight it is indicated as 42". Which is correct.? Does it come in two different heights?
Asked by: Dee-Dee
mine arrived and was 42"
Answered by: Dichelle
Date published: 2014-10-19

I had the same issue as the previous question. Do you anticipate this product or something similar coming out soon in the 34" height?

I have seen Item 30193, but would like to get an expanding tension gate, 34" in height that is a little more decrative like the mesh gate.
Asked by: StephJ
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, we do not anticipate receiving a similar item as this one in a smaller size. However, we do offer our 34”H Expandable Free-standing Mesh Pet Gate, item 42955, which may be a suitable alternative. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Answered by: KMFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-10-21
  • y_2017, m_11, d_24, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_140
  • loc_en_US, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 100ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]