Top_Nav_v2_Font
[headerTopEspot]
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address

18
100 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1011.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome dog gate! It's very attractive, not only does it look great, but it works perfectly. I wish I had bought this a long time ago! I may buy another one. I would recommend to anyone wanting to keep their dog in but still have access to the door way. I don't have a cat so the cat door isn't something I've used. It came in perfect condition and with quick delivery.
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Look Purchased this gate to keep our 3 kids from rushing people upon entering the house. Gate arrived in one large box and was extremely easy to put together! The gate is well made and looks like it belongs in our home. Ordering a second gate for another part or our house.
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Dog Gate!! This is the BEST product on the market that I could find. It looks nice and the dog cannot chew to get through. I am very satisfied with my purchase.
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and functional gate! This is the third gate I've bought in this style for my dogs, and they are incredibly useful for keeping them out of areas that I don't want them in. We recently used one to keep them in a separate room while we had dinner guests, and everyone commented on how beautiful it is! Very easy to put together and adjust to your needs, it is also incredibly well made! Only thing to keep in mind is that they still need to be used under supervision. One of my dogs is clever enough to climb over it, so we don't use it as a barrier to an exterior door, but overall it is a superb product! Definitely highly recommended!
Date published: 2017-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indoor dog gate We have a new golden retriever puppy that is getter by larger by the day. To keep her in our family room, we bought this gate. She jumps on it whenever a new person cones into the living room. This gate holds up, doesn't move, has an easy access door and is beautiful. It is well made and long lasting. We love this gate and have recommended it to friends.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great addition to our home This free standing gate is great. It's very sturdy if you put the bolts on the sides to keep the 90 degree angles. My only "complain" is that I wish it had more holes to make it smaller. I will have to drill couple of holes , because my hallway is a bit narrower. Still works and it is being used daily. My dogs have learn to respect this barrier and they know they have to sit before crossing it while I hold the door for them. One of my dogs is a known "scratcher" and she tried couple of times, she stopped. I also use it to separate my dogs when they are getting annoyed with each other. They still can roam half of the house without getting at each other throats. I'm very pleased with my purchase.
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pet gate After 3 other purchases for a pet gate to contain my 95 pound Bouvier, I found the right one! He is so smart, and escaped from other gates within a day. FINALLY I ordered this attractive gate that is well made and very stable and strong. An added bonus is its height. I highly recommend this pet gate. I am very happy with it.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pet Gate excellence We loved our first one we bought last year and have been asked by folks visiting our home as to where we got the gate. It's sturdy, it's beautiful and it does its job keeping our dog from most importantly harm in the kitchen area, which is Why I bought in the 1st place to keep her away from the double ovens when I'm cooking when she was a puppy. It was purchased as a safety measures since I noticed she wanted to leap. We bought 2 more to keep her from designated living areas to teach her boundaries. We have gotten so many compliments!!! Easy to assemble as well.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's very Pretty I was looking for a stylish gate to keep my babies in their area and ran into this one. The gate looks very very nice. I gave it only three stars because it's not the most functional. I thought the gate opened and it doesn't. I did keep it anyway because I needed something to keep my doggies contained when I'm not home. If it would have been one that opens I would've given it the 5 star rating.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doggie Gate This gate is well made and looks great. I bought it for my Aunt's 10,000 sq. ft. home so that when she opens the doors to the outside we can keep the dogs inside. She likes the gate very much and it matches her home very well.
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Sophie Stopper We have tried for years to keep our little 5-lb Maltese in a safe place when we left the house and now we do! This is a heavyweight piece, the real deal and looks great to boot.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect We got this gate when we first got our puppy. It is super sturdy and looks as if it costs 3 times as much. Quality product that fits right in as if it was custom made for the space and easy to assemble. I would highly recommend.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Styling Petgate For two years I had my table pads on end to protect my living room from my cat. Finally saw this gate, ordered it, and was delighted with it! It blends into the decor of my home and is barely visible to guests coming in. My cat doesn't even try to vault it even though I think she could. Well made and looks great!
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Love this gate. It works great for the doorway I bought it for. easy to assemble. High end look
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spot On Pet Gate I was having trouble containing my 70 pound half pit/half heeler to the kitchen while I was at work. It seems she just did not like the mailman and would barrel through the little white gate I had, causing chaos. I was careful to read the helpful reviews about this gate and am so glad I ordered it. It is much taller and she doesn't even try to go through or over it. It must be intimidating to her due to how tall it is. Anyway, it works! Not only that but it is darn cute. It looks like a little mini-screen door to me and it is substantially built. Yes, a very small dog or puppy could get through the sides; however, it would have to be a very small dog (extremely tiny.) I am very happy with this purchase. It also arrived in a timely manner and was a breeze to install.
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my new dog gate!!! This is the third one that I have ordered, and I love them! We have a formal entry foyer and these gates are beautiful and do the job of keeping two small dogs blocked out. Easy assembly and so pretty.
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality!!! We wanted to be able to block off a room and in looking for something that looked nice in our Victorian home. I took a chance and purchased this gate. When it arrived the box was heavy and when I opened it, it exceeded my expectations. The gate is beautiful. I am actually going to purchase the smaller one!
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful This is a beautiful gate and adjustable. Set up time is 10 minutes. The only downside is that it can be loud when the gate closes with a rattling clang because it is metal. What did you expect? The other downside is the extra shipping cost for large item. I am sure they can package it to be smaller. But this is a small price to pay if it keeps puppy paws and claws off my piano and couch.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Functional and Beautiful! This gate does a great job of meeting my needs and is very functional. On top of that, it looks very nice in my house and is of very high quality. I highly recommend it!
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Super gate, very heavy so it can't be pushed over, and very stylish!
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I ordered 2 of these gates to keep my dogs from wandering around the whole house. They look great and are super efficient! They are free-standing (so no drilling), sturdy (my dogs cannot knock them over or jump over them) and look amazing! I would recommend these to anyone looking for a decorative and functional, supportive gate.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Gate Ever I have therapy Yorkies and they want to see as much as be handled by my patients. I had the White bar version of this for several years and wanted something at home that would be less industrial. This is elegant, does the trick of letting the dogs see without being loose.
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellently nade A sturdy gate (bought two) that is easy to assemble and easy to access in and out of room. Very pretty and decorative. Price worth it!!
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spectacular Product-Great Service We are so pleased to have found Frontgate's Pet Gate. It is strong and attractive and flexible enough to move from doorway to doorway. When our shipment got "lost" in shipping, Frontgate's Customer Service was especially helpful and courteous.
Date published: 2017-03-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made, beautiful design I would have given this product a 5 star, but I had to return this item. The gate is beautiful and very well made, but because my hallway is on the larger side of the scale that the gate was made for, there were too large of spaces between the gate and the walls and would let the cat through too easily. It would be perfect if it came with an attachment on the ends that matched the gate so it could prevent that. I would definitely recommend if your space is on the small side of the recommended fit range.
Date published: 2017-03-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The gate did not fit! When I purchased this gate, I assumed that it would fit in a standard doorway, so I did not measure my doorway. I had to return it, because it would not fit. It looks nice, though! Wish I could've used it!!
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice gate Other than trying to put in the bottom screws to affix the left side panel to the gate, it was easy to put together. I am very happy with the look, quality and sturdiness of this gate. It is holding up well and so far holding my dogs where they are supposed to be!
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Good Gate!" Bought this to keep a new puppy and our 15 year old English Setter in the kitchen area. Work well, no issues. Easily expandable to the width we needed and not difficult to put together. Heavy enough not to tip over! Pretty enough to look good in our home, plenty of positive comments.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect in every way! I was looking for a gate to contain our cats, so it needed to be higher than most I'd seen. I also wanted a compliment to our Tuscan-style home. This gate is both beautiful and functional.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and durable This gate is very sturdy and beautiful. Love it and will be buying another one for another area in our home.
Date published: 2017-02-15
  • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_50, tr_961
  • loc_en_US, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 66ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Is this gate available without the cat door?

We will be using it to keep a cat out. Also, how easy is it to open the gate? One hand operation? Thanks
Asked by: klgiov
It is just a lever to open and shut the cat door, you can do it with one hand.
Answered by: GradyT
Date published: 2017-05-06

Can the door open outwards and inwards?

Asked by: julialee
No, it only opens one way (inward).
Answered by: Coopy
Date published: 2017-04-29

Cat Door Operation

I need a gate to keep my dogs out of a portion of the house so that the cats can have peace and a full food bowl! This gate seems perfect except it appears the cat door only swings one way and auto closes. That's awesome except that once the cat is on the other side, what do they do? Hop the fence? If that is the case, I may as well get a regular old gate. I just don't understand the purpose of the cat door if they can only use it one way. Thank you.
Asked by: ShanaBanana
I do not think that the cat door could be removed without cutting through its hinges using heavy duty power tool as is arrives fully assembled and the hinges of the cat are soldiered together. Removing the cat gate in this fashion would leave sharp edges where the hinges were cut. This would leave the potential for severe (even fatal) injuries to your cat or dog (henceforth referee to as a "cat gate" as I am using the smaller gate for my cat). It may be possible that an iron file would be capable of sanding the sharp edges down. Doing so would invariably leave markings on the area. I expect that this would also be very time consuming and would be difficult to do. We opted to keep the cat door open rather than attempt to remove it.When we installed the gate in our doorframe, we found that that the cat gate would swing partially closed when we opened and close the gate as well as after our tiny (5 lb) cat would walk through it per her tail bumping into the frame of the cat door. The cat door would only close partially such that there was only an inch or two between the two doors. Granted, our cat is older so I believe that the smaller opening confused her, it also made it impossible for her to run though it quickly when our 7momthold (50lb) Goldendoodle would chase her. If you do not have a dog that would be chasing your cat and he or she can be taught to bat the smaller opening enough to go through the cat gate thsi may not be an issue for you. However, if you goal is to keep the cat gate fully open then the partial closure would be a problem as is was for us. To remedy this issue, we placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie. When this occurred, our cat would just stand outside the door as if it were fully closed rather than paw it open. . To remedy the partial door closure issue and keep the cat door completely open, we placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie was appropri We placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie. That said., I would caution you not to over tighten the ziptie on the off chance (unlikely as the gate is quite sturdy) that it would mar the gate itself. This gate is fantastic despite the tiny bit of time it takes to secure the smaller gate in a fully open position. In fact, I had returned to this page to buy a second gate. Off to do so now! I hope that helps!
Answered by: LexiTwist
Date published: 2017-04-15

Is there a way to secure the small cat door so that it remains open?

Or can the small door be left off completely when assembling?
Asked by: Jakeblues
I do not think that the cat door could be removed without cutting through its hinges using heavy duty power tool as is arrives fully assembled and the hinges of the cat are soldiered together. Removing the cat gate in this fashion would leave sharp edges where the hinges were cut. This would leave the potential for severe (even fatal) injuries to your cat or dog (henceforth referee to as a "cat gate" as I am using the smaller gate for my cat). It may be possible that an iron file would be capable of sanding the sharp edges down. Doing so would invariably leave markings on the area. I expect that this would also be very time consuming and would be difficult to do. We opted to keep the cat door open rather than attempt to remove it.When we installed the gate in our doorframe, we found that that the cat gate would swing partially closed when we opened and close the gate as well as after our tiny (5 lb) cat would walk through it per her tail bumping into the frame of the cat door. The cat door would only close partially such that there was only an inch or two between the two doors. Granted, our cat is older so I believe that the smaller opening confused her, it also made it impossible for her to run though it quickly when our 7momthold (50lb) Goldendoodle would chase her. If you do not have a dog that would be chasing your cat and he or she can be taught to bat the smaller opening enough to go through the cat gate thsi may not be an issue for you. However, if you goal is to keep the cat gate fully open then the partial closure would be a problem as is was for us. To remedy this issue, we placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie. When this occurred, our cat would just stand outside the door as if it were fully closed rather than paw it open. . To remedy the partial door closure issue and keep the cat door completely open, we placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie was appropri We placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie. That said., I would caution you not to over tighten the ziptie on the off chance (unlikely as the gate is quite sturdy) that it would mar the gate itself. This gate is fantastic despite the tiny bit of time it takes to secure the smaller gate in a fully open position. In fact, I had returned to this page to buy a second gate. Off to do so now! I hope that helps!
Answered by: LexiTwist
Date published: 2017-04-15

How wide are the slats on the sides? I have a 2 pound escape artist and need small slats.

Asked by: Squirrelfriend
The main bars are only 1/2" apart, so it would just depend how far out the tension screws need to be to fit your opening. That would likely be the widest gap.
Answered by: EdyQ
Date published: 2017-04-15

What gauge is the wire mesh?

I have two stafford shires and need to know the gauge of the wire mesh.
Asked by: KimT
It's hard steel mesh - not just screen material. I don't know the thickness of the steel wire itself, but the holes in it are just under 1/4 inch square, so there's not really any way to bite it or get a good grab on it. Our dachshunds are total escape artists, and this is the first gate that has ever held up to them. Good luck!
Answered by: EdyQ
Date published: 2017-04-15

Is it possible to purchase expand

Is it possible to purchase additional side piece to attach to expand to 45 inches wide. Would it work if I bought 2 gates and used pieces from 2nd one? Thank you Ilene
Asked by: iklein1
There are no side pieces available, and it's really almost all one piece, vs. needing assembly, so there wouldn't be an easy way to take anything off of a 2nd one - it's far too sturdy! However, our doorway is 40.75" wide. We built 2 columns our of framing studs trimmed with moulding and painted to match the other trim on our house. These allowed for a solid installation and helped full the gaps on the sides, because we have small dogs that are escape artists, plus they made the already beautiful gate look even more custom. Wish the website had an option to post photos...sorry!
Answered by: EdyQ
Date published: 2017-04-15

What width opening does this fit?

The description on the web page states "Easily installs in doorways that are 33.5"-37.5" wide", but the assembly instructions state "This product fits opening from 32.5''to 36.5''wide.Do not place the product outside this range." My opening is 37.0" wide.
Asked by: Elleanor
Our doorway is 40.75" wide. We built 2 columns our of framing studs trimmed with moulding and painted to match the other trim on our house. These allowed for a solid installation and helped full the gaps on the sides, because we have small dogs that are escape artists, plus they made the already beautiful gate look even more custom. Wish the website had an option to post photos...sorry!
Answered by: EdyQ
Date published: 2017-04-15

can it be adjusted to lower width?

I have an opening that is 53 inches. Is there a way to configure it to be less than 55 inches? I need the taller gate (34") vs. the 22 inch to keep our 80 lb. golden retriever out of the living room, but the opening to that room is 53".
Asked by: bayareamom
No. This is a rigid construction that only comes in a few pieces. The long piece overlaps the gate frame and screw holes are on 2-inch centers holding them together. As described below, this is a fixed limitation so if you need something more narrow you need a different product. "Expands in 2" increments from 55" to 68-1/2" wide". Since it is free-standing, you could consider just placing it just beyond your opening, but a strong 80-lb dog could feasibly just shove the entire gate frame until they can go around it. Might need to put weights on the feet to prevent this.
Answered by: AustinCavalierOwner
Date published: 2017-03-11

Can this used outdoors on a porch?

Asked by: Noahwade
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. This item is recommend for indoor use only.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-12-22

How well does the gate fold up when it needs to be stored?

Asked by: dogsrgreat
It does not fold but very easy to assemble like 5 to 10 min max so you could just take it apart but it would still be big but would store flat then.
Answered by: Susiedh
Date published: 2017-02-25

does this gate stay open when you open it?

According to some of the reviews, one of the complaints is that it doesn't stay open when you open the gate. This is completely un-workable for any pet owner. Please let me know if it stays open?
Asked by: youngpicerni
No, this gate has a spring closure on the door so it's self closing.
Answered by: Katrine
Date published: 2017-01-28

What is exact width of the actual opening?

What is the exact width of the actual opening of where the large dog/person goes through?
Asked by: Goldenintheburgh
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. The main gate opening is 22-3/8"W.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-08-31

How wide is the gate opening? I am handicapped and need 25" clearance for my walker.

Asked by: Phaeton
Thank you for your interest in the 22"H Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate Barrier. The gate does not have a door in it; it is a step over gate. For a walk through gate, we recommend our 34"H Expandable Free-standing Mesh Pet Gate (42955); however, the door on that gate is only 19"W. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-11-03

I want to use this at base of stairs to keep my older Weimaraner from going up, he's 85 lb. and my floors are marble. Will this work? Will it slide?

Asked by: Aeschultz
The gate has rubber foot pads under steel legs. Doesn't slide easily. Doesn't knock over easily, either. Many large dogs are wise enough to try to jump over, push or pull over. Yours may be that smart too.
Answered by: Gdad66
Date published: 2016-10-24

Can this gate be mounted on wall?

I have used several tension-mount gates and I'm done with them. I need one I can mount on wall. Please advise. Thank you.
Asked by: Elphie
Yes, this mounts to the walls. It is very secure with the added tension pushing into the mounts.
Answered by: JAScat
Date published: 2016-12-03

Is the mesh steel? Can cat jump over the gate?

Is the mesh made of steel? Our cats are jerks and will destroy any mesh within an hour. Also can cats jump over this gate? Has anyone experienced this? Thanks!
Asked by: Racheljcs
This is a thicker mesh, not like a window screen. Yes, a very athletic cat could jump over it. One of our carts jumped from an end table over it.
Answered by: JAScat
Date published: 2016-12-03

Can a cat climb the mesh portion.

I am wanting to keep my cat from going upstairs. He needs a really tall gate and he will climb screen doors so I didn't know if the would be a suitable option.
Asked by: saskuya
Yes!! My cats LOVE it to get away from the puppy's rambunctiousness. It's very tall and has a little door to keep the cats in or out.
Answered by: JAScat
Date published: 2016-12-03

Will this fit a 30" doorway?

Would love to use this gate to keep both of our cats away from our nursery, but our doorways are only 30" wide, will this gate be able to be mounted in the doorway? Thank you.
Asked by: NurseryCats
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. Unfortunately, this will only fit doorways 33.5"-37.5" wide. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-09-11

Are the bars on the side panels on this dual door gate closer together than the gate with no dual door? I have very small yorkies.

I dont have cats so dont need dual door but afraid my yorkies could squeeze thru on the other gate. Hard to tell from pictures but dont want to spend extra money if i dont have to
Asked by: chibearfan
Well, our new kitten was able to zip through the sides very easily, after we applied it to our 36"-wide doorway. If there was a way to close that gap, we would not have returned it.
Answered by: justawful
Date published: 2016-10-01

Are you planning on having this exact type of door gate for doorways that are only 32 inches wide?

I need the door gate that opens and the cat door because I have a 90 pound lab-mix and 2 cats and I must keep the dog away from the cat's food and litter and I have issues that make climbing over a .gate too hard
Asked by: cache
This is not an answer but a second request to have this gorgeous gate in a smaller size. I have purchased the 42" and ABSOLUTELY love it. We have another home we wish to use this in but all the doors are smaller. Do hope you heed this request!
Answered by: dmartin336
Date published: 2017-02-10

Just received this, wanted to know is there anyway to keep door open

Keep door open when not using it. Only nerd it closed when I'm not at home. Thank you
Asked by: Kathill
We keep the door open by placing a weight in front of it, whenever we're letting our fur kids wander, which isn't often.
Answered by: notsosure
Date published: 2016-09-17

Does the homeowner have to physically open the cat door?

I understand that the cat door has a latch. Does the homeowner have to unlatch the cat door to allow a cat to go in or out? Most healthy adult cats can easily jump over a 42" barrier, but if you chose to include cat gate, shouldn't the cat be able to "let himself out?" (In my opinion, a cat door should open when the cat pushes on it from either direction, because the gate itself is not a barrier to most cats; even a kitten should be able to climb over using the mesh)
Asked by: doxymo
There is a latch on one side, which can be left unlatched.
Answered by: JeannieMarie
Date published: 2016-09-10

Do you offer this gate taller in height?

I have a small Pomeranian but she will easily jump this.. Currently we need to put two of the removable gates on top of each other to keep her in. I need something higher.
Asked by: CourtKnee
This comes in a taller height, 34" and 42"
Answered by: Graylon
Date published: 2016-09-10

Does this gate open and close for people to pass through it?

Asked by: MaryGX2
This particular one doesn't, the width is fixed once you decide the width and place the screws, but there are some in the catalog that have a "pass through" section.
Answered by: Rescued2
Date published: 2016-08-27

Width

Would this item work on a doorway that is a bit smaller than 33 1/2 inches?
Asked by: Sheldansk
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. We do not recommend using this gate on an opening less then 33-1/2"W.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-08-16

Can this gate be used outdoors as well?

Asked by: MissDaisy
If you live out west where it is dry (So Cal, Nev, Arizona), you might be ok (it might get too hot in the direct sun though!), otherwise I would think the metal would corrode eventually from the moisture.
Answered by: Klov3
Date published: 2016-07-09

How much does the unit weigh?

Asked by: Carol49
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. This item is 20 lbs.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-04-20

Side Panel Width

How wide are the side panels? I see that the sides are 17 3/4 deep, but I believe that is the length of the foot, not the width of the panel.
Asked by: OakleyBix
The side panels of the 22"H Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate Barrier are each 10" not including the feet.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-04-04

How much does it weigh? Which metal free standing gate is the heaviest??

Asked by: Suzh
Thank you for your interest in the 22"H Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate Barrier. This item is 20-1/2 lbs., and the extra wide is 29 lbs.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-03-25
  • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_140
  • loc_en_US, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 80ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]