Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address

18
100 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1007.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pet gate is functional yet elegant My wife thought our 20 month Golden could not be fully trusted to keep out of mischief when we were out for a few hours. The crate seemed to be limiting. We wanted to sequester her to half of our foyer which we did with this beautiful gate. The opening is 63 inches. The gate is expandable to 70 inches. I was not looking for anything that would be permanently mounted to the wall and this free standing gate was the perfect solution. It is functional and cannot be toppled over by a hyper golden who weighs 65 pounds. The gate has a swinging door as well. The quality is better than you would expect for the price. I highly recommend it. The catalog photo is not a perfect representation of the color . I would say it is more black with bronze highlights than a bronze color overall. I would have preferred a more bronze color but none the less very happy with its decorative qualities in our home.
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mesh is bent and gate is misaligned My neighbor has this gate and there are no obvious defects. We have a Bernese Mountain Dog puppy and 2 cats, and we need to keep them separate when the cats are tired of playing (he is still learning to play gently with the cats). The look of this gate is lovely; however, the gate arrived somewhat damaged. The mesh on the left panel is bent and a small piece the mesh is torn, and the doors when closed are not aligned very well. I would send this back and ask for a replacement, but we are too desperate for the functionality of the gate right now. Just be wary of possible damage and the major inconvenience of having to shipping back such a huge package.
Date published: 2017-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MESH GATE THIS GATE IS FUNCTIONAL AS WELL AS GOOD LOOKING AND IS NOW THE SECOND ONE I PURCHASED
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase! We purchased two of these gates. They were simple to set up and look great. We purchased these fences because of the gate feature and are very happy with them. The gate opens easily. These are also very good looking!
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid pet gate with super-easy setup Love it. Took about ten minutes to set it up out of the box. Shipping box was damaged, but due to adequate padding inside, product was not. Latch has nice and clean action, and end pieces keep it stable. We have a small dog, about 12lbs, but this gate should handle much larger dogs as well. Color matches our dark wood decor, and pins for attachment are quick and sturdy. Great product.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Gate I was so sorry we had to return this beautiful gate. Our doorway is too narrow and that is the only reason. This looks as good in person as it does online and is study. If they ever made one that started a little more narrow, I would buy one immediately.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! These are perfect for gating off my dogs in my sun room while I'm at work during the day. The opening is to the sun room is wide, so I loved that these came in the wider widths. They are heavy enough so they can't nudge them out of the way like the wooden ones, either. But, the best part is that they are beautiful enough to keep up even when guests come over. Putting away the ugly wooden gates gets old when you try to do it when guests come, but I allow these to remain because they are so decorative.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality, attractive look, worth the money It saves my home from 3 large dogs. that like to run through my home
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this gate The gate is very easy to assemble. The dogs can't get through it, metal works great since they chew everything and you can walk through it easily. Before I was stepping over a lower gate and sometimes the puppy would get in the way. Also it is very pretty!
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mesh gate These gates are super sturdy and easily assembled in 5 minutes. They are easy to step over, at 22" high and come with felt pads on the bottoms so they will not scratch flooring.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality and Look - This product was nothing short of the quality I expect from FrontGate - Very sturdy - Pleasant looking - I expect it to last a very long time. The design is perfect if you have a dog at the puppy stage as you don't have to worry about it getting caught between the posts or other designs. This was a good choice and I recommend it. MH
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best dog fence!! Ordered this to replace a broken freestanding wooden/metal pet barrier. I was concerned about the quality but as soon as I received it all my concerns were gone!! Nicely made and looks elegant. It is heavier than my other gate so my dogs can't push it open (a problem with the wooden one). Has worked out great!! Very happy with this purchase!!!
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Msoreo Works very well. I have two cats. They can't get Thur the mesh and are too old to jump over it. Keeps them out of rooms with carpet. People comment on how classy it looks on my hardwood floors.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completely satisfied We have three bulldogs and a Doberman all of which could easily jump this gate if they really wanted to. But they respect it. I have it in my foyer at the living room entrance. At 22 inches high, it's just enough to discourage them from doing that. It's weighted nicely and will not tip over with a little nudge. To setup was easy and I am very happy with its appearance. Unless your dog is a known jumper I would not hesitate to give it a try.
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tension mount pet gate. We are so happy with the gate. It is so well designed and can be used in several venues in our home. It is easy to install and is so attractive.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog gate Such a lovely addition to my home. This strong and sturdy gate is perfect for my golden retriever. It's heavy and versitile in my hallway that has an angled wall. Also this fat has the perfect height so it's easy to walk through and keep the dog at bay.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Well made and very sturdy. Received many compliments on it as to how decorative & rich looking it is. It adds to the room.
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality Pet Gate The Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate Barrier is beautiful and excellent quality. I purchased two since the room has two different entrances. It is easy to pick up and move even though a substantial quality steel. I am very happy and impressed with my purchase.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Notch Pet Gate This product truly is top notch. All steel construction. Easy to assemble. Looks like custom-made. Fits almost any decor.
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mesh Pet Gate The looks, sturdiness and quality are excellent. My only complaint is the way the gates are attached (screws). Need to come up with a better/easier way to connect them together.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best I've had numerous dog containment products over the years and this is the most attractive, durable yet. I also enjoy the self closing feature on the gate. There is the challenge of putting it together and adjusting the width but it was not too difficult for me.
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This was exactly what I needed. Love this gate. Great quality (as is everything with Frontgate). Love the height and product is solid. Liked it so much ordered a second one for another hallway. Well worth the price.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect pet gate! I had been searching for months for a wide pet gate to separate my family room from the adjacent living room and front door. I finally decided on this free standing mesh pet gate, after seeing the reviews and loving the look. It really exceeded my expectations, which were already high. The steel is very high quality, and it was so easy to put together with just a few elbow rods and six screws! Probably took me 5 minutes, max. The design on the gate is quite lovely, and it has got to be the nicest pet gate, ever. I am very comfortable keeping this gate out in view at all times. The gate swings smoothly, and I am really impressed with the sturdiness of the entire design. I am very happy with this purchase. Thank you, Frontgate!
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gate Love this item. Well-made anod durable.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for 2 Golden Retrievers This is the second Steel mesh pet gate we have purchased to keep our 2 80+ dogs contained inside our house. We are very happy with both purchases.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Decorative pet gate Perfect gate for all of our pets. I wish it came in narrower sizes. I had to angle it on a wall with the door frame to fit a narrow doorway. The measurements didn't work out as planned, but I found a solution that fit our needs.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Awesome! This gate couldn't have worked any better! It looks even better than the pictures! My doorway is actually 32 inches and it fit perfectly with minor tweaks. I did not add the rubber "stoppers" to one side and it holds securely in place. My pet (Zoey, a Newfoundland dog) just had knee surgery and I needed to confine her to a small area. The gate is the perfect height and the smaller door would work well for smaller pets too! It is functional and actually looks great as well. I am extremely happy with this purchase!
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for 2 Golden Retrievers We have been using a white plastic "baby" gate to keep our 85 pound dogs out of our dining room. This looks so much better in the entrance from our kitchen into our dining room. The door makes an easy entrance and exit between the rooms. Installation was super easy. We plan to order the similar gate for a wider doorway for the other entrance into our kitchen from our great room. We have only had it for a couple of weeks, so I can't comment on durability yet.
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gate! This gate is amazing. It is beautiful, sturdy, and not expensive at all. I purchased other gates in the past somewhere else at about the same price, but their quality does not compare to the quality of this one.
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 34 inch mesh gate for dogs Best gate ever. Perfect for large openings and beautiful. Works great for both our dogs.
Date published: 2016-08-19
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_50, tr_957
  • loc_en_US, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 130ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Does the doggie entrance/door stay open when you unlock it?

Can the doggie entrance/door stay open so your dog can go thru the door when they want?
Asked by: vedi
yes I have one of these
Answered by: Bamagail
Date published: 2016-03-19

Size if kitty door

I want to know how large the cat door is. I have a pug that I need to keep out but a grown cat that I want to have access. Can the pug (just your standard pug) fit through the opening?
Asked by: Javasnob
my 3 lb yorkie and my sister 4 lb Havashire can get through it easy
Answered by: Bamagail
Date published: 2016-03-19

Description shows width 33.5"-37.5", does the measurement include the tension bumpers? Our doorway is 33.5" exactly.

Asked by: CadeM
I am guessing tou would not have to wind the adjusters out to far, I have a 36 in door so I had to wind the out pretty far which caused the bigger gap btween the wall and frame This mad me have to put a board in between mine to keep my puppy in
Answered by: Bamagail
Date published: 2016-09-14

How does the gate attach to the wall or is this a freestanding piece heavy enough to withstand the force if a do jumping on it?

Would like some further safety info
Asked by: DRRD
This gate is free standing as shown on the picture. It's pretty sturdy but then again, we don't have a dog that tries to jump over it. The gate can be reinforced to the wall with a piece of wood but I think it would have to be a pretty big dog to knock it over. Hopefully that helps.
Answered by: HoustonTXDogLover
Date published: 2016-01-23

Can 2 of these be used together to cover an 8 ft. area?

Asked by: KristinP
Thank you for your interest in the 22"H Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate Barrier. Two barriers could be used to cover a larger area, but placing this item without both side being against a wall or door frame may cause the barrier to be moved easily by your pet.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-08-16

I would like to purchase 2 of these, but one I would need to expand across a wider opening. Does this have an expandable option? Thank you

Would a wall installed option possible be available in addition to tension.
Asked by: lindamason
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. This gate is only designed for doorways that are 33.5"-37.5" wide.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2015-06-22

Do you carry replacement parts for this pet gate?

I need the metal tubes that expand to the wall. The pet gate is not sturdy any longer as the expandable part is missing Thanks, Kristine Beck
Asked by: kristovia
For parts or warranty information please contact our customer service at 1-888-263-9850.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2015-04-06

Including the extra tension mounts, what is the widest the gate will go?

Asked by: Megamess
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. This item extends to 37-1/2"W with tension mounts.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2015-04-03

Will it extend to fit a 40" wide doorway?

Asked by: dogmomma2
The 42"H Tension - mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate only expands to fit a 37-1/2"W opening.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2015-03-18

Does it come with hinges on the other side?

I need the gate to swing open to the left. When you are looking at it and open it towards you, I need it to open to the left. Turning it around is not an option because it is placed at the bottom of steps.
Asked by: Cats2plus1
The 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate's door can not be moved to the other side. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Answered by: MLRFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-02-10

Can this gate be easily painted? I need a white one.

Asked by: bgskie
The 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate can be painted.
Answered by: MLRFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-07-25

Will my energetic strong yorkie be able to push it aside to wiggle out the side?

Also, I see comments about it being heavy...I will be pushing it aside or sliding it smaller... when he is allowed into the other rooms. Is that easy to do on a daily basis? Love the look!
Asked by: Bailey2
In general, he should not be able to push it. It's pretty sturdy and heavy. However, if the gate doesn't fit the opening properly, and leaves inches open, or if you haven't used the screws to hold the end pieces securely in place, he could maybe wiggle those and snake through. You can't slide them smaller. The gate is screwed together into the configuration you need for your opening. The pieces don't 'slide'. You'd just have to lift the unit and move it aside. I size my gates so that the side pieces are inside the opening, not in front of the opening (as in the picture)... then my dog can't push or work it open.
Answered by: JAKnarr
Date published: 2014-09-06

I have an opening that has base boards. How will this gate fit?

I purchased a pet gate from PetSmart, but it doesn't work because the little rubber connectors on the ends are not adjustable. So it's snug at the bottom but not at the top. Are the tension mounts on this gate spring loaded? Meaning, if my walls are not square or I have base boards, can I still use this gate? How? Thanks
Asked by: concern
The Steel Mesh Pet Gate fits openings 33''-47'' wide. We encourage you to look at the assembly instructions on the product page.
Answered by: MLRFrontgateService
Date published: 2014-05-19

We need a gate in our hallway that is 7 ft wide. Can this gate be expanded further? Or custom made?

Asked by: veggiema
We cannot increase the size of the 34"H Expandable Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate.
Answered by: MLRFrontgateService
Date published: 2015-12-29

Can I get the gate with the cat access at 52" wide?

Asked by: WiderGate
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. Unfortunately the cat door is not adjustable.
Answered by: MLRFrontgateService
Date published: 2014-03-26

Does the gate maker make gap fillers?

My 2 pound escape artist yorkie can fit through the gate sides when fully extended. I have found several gates that you can buy gap fillers for, however, I can't find any for this 42" gate.
Asked by: ALI1
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. Gap fillers are not available for the Tension-Mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-02-10

expansion panels?

Can I purchase expansion panels for this gate? I need a much wider width but I love the height, the style and the auto-close feature!
Asked by: olayak
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. Expansion Panels are not available for the 42"H Tension-mount Dual-Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2014-01-18

is there an available expansion panel?

Asked by: BigJoe78
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. Expansion panels are not available for the Free-standing Mesh Pet Gate.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2014-01-11

Can you add one more panel to this. I have an opening that leaves me a few inches short when this is expanded its fullest.

Asked by: carlyn
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. We do not have an expansion panel available for the 22"H Expandable Steel Mesh Pet Gate.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-12-23

anyone used this with ferrets?

do cats or ferrets just climb up the mesh and over the top? while you say 'contains even the smallest pets', your photos don't imply anyone would have a pet other than a dog.
Asked by: Ferretmom
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. There are spaces in the mesh that would be large enough for a climbing pet's claws to climb up the side of the panel. We have not received any feedback from customers that may have used this product for containg ferrets or cats, but perhaps some of our customers will be able to provide you with information regarding their experiences.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-01-10

The force of the hinge spring causes the gate to become unattached from the wall.

I have had this gate installed for 3 weeks. The spring hinge is VERY strong, and sometimes gets out of one's hand, when closing it (or one's hands are full). This causes, over time, the gate to un-attach from it's pressure-attached screws on the edges. Causing the gate to either fall off, or to become diagonally/obliquely askew. Has anyone else had this problem? And how did you solve it? (the door frame it is attached to is high gloss paint, if that makes any difference.)
Asked by: Joy56
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The knobs for the Tension-mount Dual Door Pet Gate should have rubber pads on the ends to prevent the gate from slipping once it has been mounted. If you continue to experience issues, please contact our Product Specialists at 800-537-8484 for further assistance.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-11-29

Gaps on the side of extended gate?

My doorway is 36 inches wide. I have seen previous reviewers mention that when gate is fully extended, there is room on either side for cats to squeeze through. How much space can I expect on the sides if the gate is extended to fit my 36 inch doorway? My 18 pound French bulldog/pug mix is an escape artist and I've had a hard time finding ways to contain her!
Asked by: avalonlight
Gaps are only 1/4 to 1/3 inch between the slats.
Answered by: Joy56
Date published: 2013-11-26

can I get this gate with no door for dog, just full panels

Asked by: debelaine
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The 22"H Tension-Mount Pet Gate is not available in a version without a door. We do, however, have a similar product with no door. the 22"H Free-Standing Pet Gate, item 42958. You can view this product at the following link: http://www.frontgate.com/22-22h-free-standing-steel-mesh-pet-gate-barrier/313120
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-10-29

My door is 30 inch. Would this work in that area?

Asked by: Elia
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The Tension-mount Dual Door Pet Gate requires an opening that is at least 33.5" wide. Unfortunately, this gate would be too wide for your doorway.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-05-29

What is the shortest width door this will fit in?

We have a door that is 32" wide and love the way this gate looks but don't know if it would fit the width of our door.
Asked by: oldharley
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The minimum width to install the 42"H Tension Mount Pet Gate is 33.5 inches.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-10-26

Other Sizes

I have a Rhodesian Ridgeback and would really like to have this type of gate for my home but my doorways are 30". I'm certain if it was offered in differing sizes there is a market...can we expect that to happen?
Asked by: OldArmyWife
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. At this time we do not have plans to make the 42"H Tension-Mount gate in other widths.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-02-10

Does this gate have a door opening like the larger one?

I am looking for a gate about 41" wide that has a door to open and close.
Asked by: gmmamarsh
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The 22"H Free-Standing Mesh Pet Barrier does not have a walk-through door. The 22" height is low enough for most people to be able to step over comfortably.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-10-21

Do you have this product with a shorter Height. My dog is very small and I just want to keep him away from the stairs.

Asked by: belladolce
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The Tension-mount Mesh Pet Gate is available in a smaller style. We recommend the 22"H Expandable Steel Mesh Pet Gate, Item# 42957.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-10-21

does the 22 inch high gate come in white or black colors? And does this gate come in expandable 78 inch width?

Asked by: newdogmom
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The 22"H Free-standing Steel Mesh Pet Gate Barrier is only available in the Bronze finish. The Extra-Wide gate is available with a maximum width of 70".
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-10-21

Can this gate be doubled and connected to make a wider one?

I have a 70" gate right now that is just a bit not wide enough for my doorway. This one is perfect if it would expand to about 75-80"
Asked by: StephanieB
Thank you for contacting the Frontgate Product Specialist Department. This gate cannot be connected to another one.
Answered by: nmuir
Date published: 2013-10-21
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_134
  • loc_en_US, sid_42955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 76ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Product:42955-34"H Expandable Freestanding Mesh Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]