Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

34"H Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address

18
100 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
34"H Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 241.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect Perfect for what we needed and no drilling required.
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made and beautiful We just moved into a new home with wide doors. This looks and works beautifully to contain my four cocker spaniels in my kitchen and entryway. It looks like part of the decor. We kept ours free standing but easily could have installed in the opening. The dogs cannot knock it down. It is a little pricey but you get what you pay for. Sure this will last for years.
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Functional We currently have three of these gates in our home. They are beautiful, simplistic, and keep our three small and medium-sized dogs gated off from carpeted areas. These gates are easy to assemble and install in a short time. The latches are strong and easy to operate. They're sturdy, and though not meant to use for children, we have found they hold up with little ones around too. I cannot rave enough about the functionality of these gates. And we've had many compliments on how nice they look. I definitely recommend them!
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny I have two willful (but totally lovable) long haired dachshunds. When I adopted them at 4 months old, and just 10 pounds, they quickly broke a lesser quality wooden gate that I hoped would confine them to the kitchen area while at work. I had to resort to a crate which was large and ugly, but filled a need for the past year. I had been searching for a strong, durable gate that would fit a 72 inch opening and also be "furniture" quality. There are not many good options out there to choose from. This gate met all my needs and then some. I had a neighbor help me assemble it as it was a bit heavy and the instructions not that clear. Once set up and in place I had several opportunities to see how well the gate does the job and kept my boys, now 15 pounds, contained. When I am home I tie a ribbon around to door to allow us to move from room to room. And when I am away from home, I now leave with confidence knowing all is well!!! I am very happy to have found this beautiful and sturdy gate and consider it money well spent.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional and beautiful This gate is not only very functional but beautiful. I do not enjoy having gates inside of my home but needed something to contain my Doberman Pinscher. I bought this gate and also the matching, more narrow version. The iron quality is very pretty and has a slightly distressed look that matches my decor. I could not find prettier gates anywhere else.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I have 3 dogs, who need to be separated at times. This gate is aesthetically pleasing and sturdy. I am VERY happy with this!!
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Pet Gate This is the perfect gate for anyone needing something attractive and large enough for bigger dogs and larger spaces. Love that it's a freestanding gate and that I don't have to ruin my walls. It's also nice and heavy so our dogs cannot move it like other freestanding gates, and it has a door so we can walk through. It is perfect for our needs.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what we needed Just got a new puppy and wanted to limit what rooms he could go to. This was the nicest thing we saw. Very easy for us to walk though, adjustable size and easy to assemble. Extremely pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality The quality is very nice... but beware that the instructions are a bit of a challenge as the diagrams are tiny and unclear. I also don't understand why they call it freestanding when they send brackets that have to be drilled into the wall.. I've not attached mine to the wall yet, because it requires tools to remove it away from the opening if say you wanted to move it when guests came over. It's a bit deceiving regarding that description of freestanding... my 2 yr old grandson was pulling on it and banging it against the wall but it didn't tip over. I believe it needs attaching to the wall, but I've hired a handyman to come up with a way to attach it where it could be easily removed if desired. I would buy again, regardless of this little snafu...
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality gate! This is the most attractive, sturdy, pet gate on the market. We placed it in Our foyer to protect our front doors when visitors come. it is standing in place and the door is extremely secure. it doesn't look like a cheap pet gate, rather it is quite attractive considering it's purpose.
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice gate Nice gate, however, I wish they made the same one taller. I have a puppy right name, but will be a larger dog and not sure if the gate would withstand a taller, heavier dog. Also do not like the lock. It is awkward. The gate is not as heavy as I thought it would be. In order to open you have to hold down the gate with your foot , or rest your other hand on op of gate, otherwise it is hard to pull up on gate to open. Nice looking, and well crafted, other than the locking mechanism.
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks good very effective Easy to put together.. looks good and is very durable..nothing more to say
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is the wrong gate to order! We purchased one of the self closing mesh pet gates from Frontgateand and it was amazing. The build quality was extremely good with heavy metal and an incredibly good spring loaded self closing door. We liked it so much that we ordered two more, or so I thought. I mistakenly ordered this gate. When you search on the site for dog gate you get a different selection than when you just search for gate. I ended ordering this gate instead of the mesh. While this gate is better looking the gauge of metal is much lighter and the door will not self close. Opening and closing requires you to lift the door to allow the locking pins to clear the bars and engage. If you open the gate it will close but not lock thus defeating the purpose of a gate. We are returning these and getting another set of the mesh gates.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Large Pet Gate We purchased 2 gates from Frontage for 2 separate areas. The gates match all of our decor and blend in nicely as they are in focal points of our home. The smaller wall mounted gate is wonderful and when set up correctly will swing shut on it's own. The 34" freestanding gate fits the space nicely but it does not shut on it's own so if my 11 and 14 year olds pass through it, they rarely stop to shut it and all 3 dogs push through it into our formal living space and upstairs where we don't want them. It takes some effort to shut the door. You have to pull back and lift. For this reason, and this reason only I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5.
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality I have had my gates now for almost 2 years and they still look as good as when i bought them. They are by far the best gates for my pets and also for the small children that come to visit.I highly recommend them to anyone who is considering buying them ,they are well worth the money!
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Completely Happy with Gate I purchased this gate because the pictures showed the door opening in either direction. It does not do that unless you attach the sides in a way that ignores the slots for pins that give the gate additional stability. I also found the door latch a pain to use on this gate. We previously purchased the 34" Expandable Free Standing Steel Mesh Gate and love it. We purchased a second one to replace this gate. The latch on it is much easier to use and the gate seems sturdier. You also have to attach the sides on the Mesh gate "backwards" to get the door to open in the direction we need, but it seems sturdy enough in that configuration.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy, just what we needed Sturdy and beautiful free-standing gate. It took a while for me to put it together by myself, but I did get it together; directions were decent, but required intuition on my part, as it wasn't all spelled out, detail by detail. I am purchasing more to make my own "pen" for an elderly disabled pet that has frequent "accidents".
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best gate ever! We ordered four of the pet gates for four of our neighbors who had seen ours. They all love the gate and have commented on the outstanding quality. Thank you for offering this gate as there is nothing as good anywhere!!
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality We love our pets, but... Didn't really want to have to get a gate to keep the dogs out but since we did, this gate is the perfect gate to get. Good looking, sturdy and fit our large opening.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate meets expectations We bought this gate to keep our dogs in our bedroom at night without having to close the double doors to the room. We like the air circulation with the doors open, but we regularly foster dogs and don't want them roaming the house while we sleep. The gate and the door in the gate work like a charm. It was easy to assemble and very well built. I would highly recommend!
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gate This gate was well made and we absolutely love the finish. EZ to install and we are very pleased with Frontgate.
Date published: 2016-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Perfect for our needs and puppy control. Looks good, too!
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Freestanding Pet Barrier with Door Wonderful product! Everything (and more) that we had hoped it would be. Delivery was timely. I would definitely order from this company again.
Date published: 2015-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent quality Impressed with the quality and style. I was really wanting something "sturdy" but freestanding (although it also comes with hardware to attach it to the wall). This fits the bill. Only taking off a star because I wish there was more flexibility in where the gate location is/direction of swing and having the option to connect the short side sections (the ones that support it) either direction. There is really only one way to put it together. The overall width is the only thing that can be changed. With that said, I went ahead and ordered a second one for another area of my house.
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So thrilled with our purchase This free-standing gate was the absolute answer to our "problem" - a puppy who could clear almost any height gate.......except this one! Love it.
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect solution for a pet free room The freestanding pet barrier was easy to assemble and looks great. We love the walk-through door! It makes it so easy for everyone (pet and humans) to go from one room to the other.
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fence for dog It is well made and heavy enough to restrain large 75 pound greyhound. Its versatility is in its well planned reversals of door opening to extensions. It looks like wrought iron and appears to be painted and primed. I would recommend anyone needing a restraint at a door opening to buy this product.
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pet Barrier This product was easy to set up and very nice looking in our home. I like that the gate can be easily moved to different locations/doorways. It is heavy enough to keep our small dog contained. The only drawback has been that there are times I want to keep the walk-through door open so our pet can move freely around the house with us. We have a small rock to prop open the door when we do this...I understand the reason of having the door swing closed but it would be helpful to be able to leave open at times. The width of the walk-through door opening is a little small but workable. A larger person may find it troublesome. Besides these small criticisms we have enjoyed using this pet barrier. Nice looking gate and functions well for us.
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great to contain 4 month old lab puppies We bought 3 of these gates to contain our puppies in what we call their playroom. We removed our dining room table and replaced it with the crate we use for their comfort while we are gone. The walk through doors are great for us to go from the kitchen to the living room. They look nice and all of our puppy visitors have a easy time going from room to room.
Date published: 2015-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy/barrier This is the second freestanding pet barrier we purchased. The first one is used between the kitchen and the den, and this one is to protect the space for our cat to have access for the master bedroom and the living room area. The barrier is heavy and prevents our 50 lb. dog from getting to the cat as well as we can easily "walk" through the gate. No more climbing over baby gates. It is easy to assemble. It took about 10 minutes, My only suggestion is centering the door would be beneficial, though the construction might be less sturdy.
Date published: 2015-05-02
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_229
  • loc_en_US, sid_31077, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 101ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

I have a large dog who shoves the tension mounted gates over - would this be stable enough to not tip?

Asked by: hagrasse
I have 4 Golden retrievers and 1 Doberman they have not been able to knock it down.. Its very sturdy!
Answered by: meetoo5
Date published: 2016-10-08

how secure is the latch on the gate?

I'm wondering if the latch is secure enough to prevent a child from accidently opening the gate for the dog? Can you give a little more detail on how you open the latch (magnetic, squeeze and pull up, etc)? thank you!
Asked by: erinS
The latch is 2 parts, to be opened with one-hand. There were no instructions on this, so I had to figure it out. Use your thumb on the slide thumb-piece to unlock this horizontal slide pin, then slightly lift up to unlatch the lower pin. So, it is a smooth, one-handed, 2-part motion to unlatch and open the gate. It will automatically close and re-latch on its own if given it's own "weight"; I can prevent the door from automatically re-latching by apposing it gently. I can see if one had debilitating arthritis in the hand it might be hard to operate.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20

Can you use this gate at the base of stairs, to keep dogs from going up?

Asked by: tice
I don't see why not.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2017-09-26

Is this more of a black or a brown?

Looking for glossy black to match our stair railings. Thanks!
Asked by: renedawn
More of a brown; technically, it is a "bronzed" finish.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20

Does the gate swing shut automatically?

I have two young kids, and I'm afraid they'll plow through without shutting the gate behind themselves. Does it swing shut automatically?
Asked by: jenbelle
Yes, it will shut automatically unless you gently appose the door to the gate, where you can (intentionally) prevent it from latching/locking.
Answered by: DecorHound
Date published: 2016-08-20

How do you order the actual 34 inch item advertised since it lists three sizes and only lets you select the 20 inch height options for purchase?

This product is very confusing. It's called a 34 inch gate. The dimensions list 3 gates. One is 34 inches high and 55 - 68 in. width. The other two are 20 inches higher with varying widths. However, you can only select one of the two 20 in high gates to order on this page. How are customers supposed to order the 34 inch gate advertised in the picture?
Asked by: KateIndy
Thank you for your interest in the 34-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. To order this gate simply select the quantity from the drop down and the then the first "Add to Cart" button. The 34" gate only comes in one size, so there is no "Choose Size" option for this gate as there is for the 20" gate.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-03-08

Are you able to secure this gate to the walls on each side?

Asked by: Kris1
No - you are viewing / asking about the free-standing version. There is a tension mounted/mounted version that is not as wide.
Answered by: EKMG
Date published: 2016-01-09

How big is the gate opening? And how tall is the bar across the bottom that you have to step over when passing through?

Asked by: Crystalannrick
It is wide enough to be comfortable getting through (my husband is a bug guy and has no issues). The piece at the bottom is not raised much at all and should not cause any issues (would estimate < 2 inches).
Answered by: EKMG
Date published: 2016-01-09

Does this gate bend into different configurations?

I need a gate that can block off a curved space.
Asked by: LBA22
No - fixed position.
Answered by: EKMG
Date published: 2016-02-13

Which gate to buy?

We have a 40" wide opening and want a pet barrier WITH a walk-through door. Do you sell such a gate?
Asked by: BTBT
There is an extra wide tension mounted version that expands up to > 40" - that should work just fine
Answered by: EKMG
Date published: 2016-01-09

Will this adjust to fit a 61 inch hallway?

Asked by: albertzulma
It will "expand" up to 68" - just adjust the one side to fit your opening and tighten!
Answered by: EKMG
Date published: 2016-01-09

I need a pet gate that will extend approximately 93" (a little under 8'.) Also, it must be free standing. Could you accommodate?

Asked by: Beff
If you were to use two of these gates and "attach" them together in the middle (you can adjust each one independently) - but it would be over 100"...not sure if you could place at an angle (I have had to do that with other freestanding gates as I have a very wide opening too).
Answered by: EKMG
Date published: 2017-08-12

This is exactly what am I looking for except I do not want the front part to exceed 50 inches. Is there a way to do that?

Is it possible to put the gate together and reduce the length? If not is there another similar gate? The mesh one is nice , but this one seems to be more substantial and likely to last longer than mesh.
Asked by: Rogersinnc
no - the smallest width is over 50 inches. They do have the same gate in a pressure mounted version for more narrow openings.
Answered by: EKMG
Date published: 2016-01-09

Horizontal opening at base of door

What are the dimensions of the opening at base of the door itself? Is an adult cat likely to get through it?
Asked by: Mojoken
I am not in front of my gate at this time, but I do have three cats and they can not get through unless the door itself is opened.
Answered by: EKMG
Date published: 2016-01-09

can the door be installed to open either in or out?

Asked by: rdsxroc
The 6-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door only opens on one side.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-01-21

How deep is the side panel of the 36in. gate minus the horizontal support leg?

I have to partition off an entryway that spans the edge of a stairway so need to ensure that the side panel coverage is adequate to secure that space. Thanks
Asked by: Remi
The 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door is not recommended for use on stairways.
Answered by: MLRFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-02-24

are there extensions for the 36" freestanding barrier with gate

Asked by: steely
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. In reference to your question, we do currently have a 20-inch freestanding barrier available. Item number 30191.
Answered by: STFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-09-09

I need a Pet Barrier that is at least 78" wide...would it be possible to get an additional section and would it be easily added on?

Asked by: ChrisP
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. Expansion panels are not available for the Freestanding Pet Barrier.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2014-05-03

Can this be used outdoors, at the bottom of the stairs...just in case the "runaway" dog decides to bolt out the door?

Asked by: brewsterivy
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The Freestanding Pet Barrier is intended for indoor use only.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-12-23

where can i get missing pieces to gate?

The gate was purchased at Frontgate outlet store. It is missing a connector piece, that I would like to have. How can I obtain the missing piece for the gate? Thank you
Asked by: Sroebker
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. Please contact a Product Specialist at 800-537-8484 regarding replacement parts for the Freestanding Pet Barrier.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-10-21

Can this gate be used for babies/small children? Is it sturdy enough?

Asked by: Jazu
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. In reference to your question, the gate is recommended for pets only. I apologize for this inconvenience.
Answered by: state
Date published: 2013-10-21

Storage details?

Does the gate fold flat? Do the side panels and 'feet' come off or fold?
Asked by: solliwood
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. Depending on how you assemble the gate, the side panels can be folded down for storage. They can also be removed if needed.
Answered by: MZFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-10-21

Can this be used outdoors?

On a deck.....the finish would go with the rest of the deck.....
Asked by: Cinny1
Thank you for your interest in the 36-inch Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door. This gate was not designed for outdoor use and it should not be exposed to the elements.
Answered by: MZFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-10-21

Need a gate like this 50" wide. Do you have anything like this?

Asked by: Anonymous
This gate expands to much wider than 50", as shown in the product description - my opening is wider than the 50" and works great!
Answered by: cnazanimals
Date published: 2013-10-21

Is this a freestanding unit?

I do not want to permanently install it.
Asked by: solomon
can be attached "permanently" but it has feet so you can move it from place to place fairly securely. we haven't secured it and haven't had a problem
Answered by: pasteve
Date published: 2013-10-21

we have a 50'' wide hallway. Will this gate fit the space

Asked by: cram
Unfortunately the shortest length of the 36" Freewstanding Pet Barrier is 54.75".
Answered by: sandyo92691
Date published: 2013-10-21

I have a 6 foot (72 inch) opening. Will this gate be wide enough?

Asked by: Butterbean
The 36" high version can be extended to 68.5". If centered in the 70" opening there would be about a 1.75" space at either end of the barrier. There is a 2" space between each slat in the barrier.
Answered by: sandyo92691
Date published: 2017-08-27

I have an 84" opening. Can I buy 2 of these barriers and combine panels/pieces to fit the opening?

Asked by: KJake
If you did, you would have the 11" side pieces sticking out in the middle of your gate. They would butt up against each other, and I suppose you could wire them together with a nice bronze-looking wire. I think it would function fine, but you definitely would have those sides in the middle of your gate. I own this one, and I have it spanning a 55" width. See pic and you will clearly see the side panels. LOVE the gate!
Answered by: cnazanimals
Date published: 2014-07-10

What length are the side returns of this and also it appears the gate can be on either side .. correct? Can the gate be in the middle also?

Asked by: s2pilot
The side returns are exactly 11" long. We assembled ours about 11 months ago, but I don't "think" you can have the gate on either side. Also, the gate's placement depends on how much or how little you expand the gate. See my pic - mine is spanning a 55" width (with more room available), so it puts the gate more to the side). The gate will fall wherever it does, based on how wide you make the gate - it can't be changed. But this is an AMAZING product and we love it!!
Answered by: cnazanimals
Date published: 2014-11-08

I have a 45" opening, will this gate adjust to fit this width ??

Asked by: puzba
Yes! I bought this exact gate and width a year ago and I use it for a 55" opening (and it looks like it could expand another foot beyond that). This is an incredible product, well worth the investment, and looks GREAT in our house!
Answered by: cnazanimals
Date published: 2014-07-10
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_31077, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Product:31077-34"H Freestanding Pet Barrier with Gate

34"H Freestanding Pet Barrier with Walk-through Door

Freestanding Pet Barrier in Bronze

Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]