Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Mesh Pet Gate

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address

18
100 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Mesh Pet Gate is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 165.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made, beautiful design I would have given this product a 5 star, but I had to return this item. The gate is beautiful and very well made, but because my hallway is on the larger side of the scale that the gate was made for, there were too large of spaces between the gate and the walls and would let the cat through too easily. It would be perfect if it came with an attachment on the ends that matched the gate so it could prevent that. I would definitely recommend if your space is on the small side of the recommended fit range.
Date published: 2017-03-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The gate did not fit! When I purchased this gate, I assumed that it would fit in a standard doorway, so I did not measure my doorway. I had to return it, because it would not fit. It looks nice, though! Wish I could've used it!!
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect in every way! I was looking for a gate to contain our cats, so it needed to be higher than most I'd seen. I also wanted a compliment to our Tuscan-style home. This gate is both beautiful and functional.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Gate! After years of having our dachshunds pull down, chew up, and jump over traditional dog gates, we decided to try to find something more permanent and sturdy, but still attractive. We looked into having a custom gate built, but found it to be pretty pricey. However, most metal gates we found were in widths that would not even come close to our doorway's measurements. Our doorframe is 40.75" across, so we were initially sad to think that this gate would be barely too small, but we decided to try to find a solution, and we're so glad we took a chance! This gate is even more beautiful in person and very solid - the website pictures truly don't do it justice. We ended up building 2 columns for each side out of framing studs, trimmed them out to fill the gaps and still be a sturdy brace to support the gate, and painted them to match the other trim in our home. In the end, they make the gate look even more interesting, and we couldn't be happier! Our only regret is that this site doesn't have an option to share photos.
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Gate I was so sorry we had to return this beautiful gate. Our doorway is too narrow and that is the only reason. This looks as good in person as it does online and is study. If they ever made one that started a little more narrow, I would buy one immediately.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality, attractive look, worth the money It saves my home from 3 large dogs. that like to run through my home
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tension mount pet gate. We are so happy with the gate. It is so well designed and can be used in several venues in our home. It is easy to install and is so attractive.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gate Love this item. Well-made anod durable.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Decorative pet gate Perfect gate for all of our pets. I wish it came in narrower sizes. I had to angle it on a wall with the door frame to fit a narrow doorway. The measurements didn't work out as planned, but I found a solution that fit our needs.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Awesome! This gate couldn't have worked any better! It looks even better than the pictures! My doorway is actually 32 inches and it fit perfectly with minor tweaks. I did not add the rubber "stoppers" to one side and it holds securely in place. My pet (Zoey, a Newfoundland dog) just had knee surgery and I needed to confine her to a small area. The gate is the perfect height and the smaller door would work well for smaller pets too! It is functional and actually looks great as well. I am extremely happy with this purchase!
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for 2 Golden Retrievers We have been using a white plastic "baby" gate to keep our 85 pound dogs out of our dining room. This looks so much better in the entrance from our kitchen into our dining room. The door makes an easy entrance and exit between the rooms. Installation was super easy. We plan to order the similar gate for a wider doorway for the other entrance into our kitchen from our great room. We have only had it for a couple of weeks, so I can't comment on durability yet.
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally found the perfect pet gates I recently bought 3 of these gates and installed them yesterday. They are and look great!! Easy to assemble, sturdy, beautiful. My three dogs aren't too happy about it, especially the German Shepard, so are my Chow and pit mix. These gates are the highest out there! My regret is not discovering these gates before!! No cons!!!
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous gate I already owned two other gates from Frontgate, so it was no surprise when this gate came and it was exactly as described. It is a good looking, sturdy gate, which mounts easily (though instructions were not good) and opens and closes easily. At first I thought that the height was unnecessarily tall, but the height is nice in that it makes it easy for adults to walk through without having to bend over to work a latch. When extended to fit a 36" doorway there are 3" spaces on either side of the uprights---which is definitely enough to let a puppy through. If the gate is in an even wider doorway, those will be wider as well, which is a point to consider. This can be seen in the catalog picture, so it should not be unexpected. In our case we were able to place pieces of wood in this space temporarily to narrow the spaces until the puppy grows. This completes my puppy-proofing, but if I did need another gate I would choose this product again. It's a great gate at a good price.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect addition We needed something a bit more permanent than using the old fashioned mesh gates. This is a beautiful piece, it was an easy install. Our small dog can get through the smaller door. It fits in perfectly with our home decor. It was a very good buy. Thank you.
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Purchase Beautiful and well-crafted dog gate. It is sturdy, functional, and attractive. Am buying another for a different room. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME THE DOOR WORKED GREAT. LOOKED GREAT. KITTY DOOR HOLE WAS TOO BIG AND OUR MID SIZED DOG GOT THRU. FIX WAS TO CUT THE MESH IN THE KITTY DOOR AND DUCT TAPE TO AVOID SHARP EDGES, FIXED THE PROBLEM. WOULD BUY ANOTHER ONE SHOULD ONE BE NEEDED SOME WHERE ELSE. THANKS FOR A SOLUTION TO OUR KITTY/DOG PROBLEM.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 42inch Tension mount gate I bought this gate 1 year ago to keep my 3 lb yorkie in my kitchen when I am away from the house. It is a beautiful gate and the I love it. I did have to make an adjustment to the side because it has some opening on the sides that she could get thru. I just had my husband cut a 2x4 piece of would and painted it the same color as the gate , problem fixed. I used the wood between the wall and gate to fill in the space some so she could not get out. I love this gate and the style looks great in my home. The gate is spring loaded and you can not just leave it open which is fine for us. I just open the small door on the bottom for my yorkie. She loves her little door since she is still 3 lbs and can not get up on things. I recommend this gate to people with xs pups The mesh part is wonderful and beautiful
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Gate! Useful to keep large cats out. I am using the gate to keep out one "large" cat from mingling with the others. Interestingly enough, since at the sides of the gate there is some space, the "thinner" cats can easily slide in through the sides, whereas the larger cat cannot - perfect for what we needed. The gate is sturdy, beautiful to look at and opens only one way. It is self closing (so helpful!). No matter that the door may "slam", it doesn't jar the gate off the door. None of my animals push against it but I can't imagine that a medium sized dog can push it out of place. Maybe a large dog with effort can?? Anyway, it's a great gate for a good price.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be better I bought this because I liked the looks and it was tall. I did read reviews and understood the shortcomings before I got it. My hall is 37 inches wide. You can install this for 37 inches but it is very unstable and leaves a 4 inch gap on either side - a small dog can get thru or a big dog can get his paw or part of his head thru. My 40 pound dog ran right thru it within an hour. We installed a 4x4 on one side to make the hall size 33 and now it fits well and is sturdy. We do have a door stop to keep the gate open when we want it and you have to be careful about the ledge ..have tripped several times. Overall, it looks nice and works but it could be better, especially for the price
Date published: 2015-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnificent Quality and remarkable beauty beyond what picture is able to display. Distressing around both edges of frame was gorgeous and genius. Thank you!
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Pet Gate My only regret with this purchase is that I did not find it sooner. It's stylish, but most importantly completely functional. My dog is an Italian Greyhound/Chihuahua mix and he could easily scale all other pet gates I tried before. Not this one! It's great because he can stay on "his side of the fence" but still feel like he can see into the real world on the other side. The little doggie door within the gate is a great feature for those times when he's able to come and go at will. There's no way he can scale this - and his a very prolific jumper. I would highly recommend this gate to anyone - it's very, very, very sturdy - and attractive!
Date published: 2015-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST MADE PET GATE EVER I purchased this pet gate because of the height and the durable steel construction of the entire gate. I have a small dog that can jump over most indoor gates and this one has been a life saver. Only non positive feature that I could list is that it should be available in a shorter width. My husband works with metal and was able to cut it down to the width that I needed. It looks great, like it was delivered that way. There is not a better pet gate available for purchase anywhere.
Date published: 2015-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elegant and Functional I purchased this Pet Gate for my front door. It fits and functions perfectly while being quite lovely aesthetically. I am very, very pleased with this product!
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever Does the job it is intended to do and looks fabulous. Highly recommend. Super easy to install as well. Receive compliments on it all the time.
Date published: 2015-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Well structured, elegant looking. auto shut is very helpful while your hands are full.. best doggie gate i've ever had and I have had a lot.
Date published: 2015-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly sturdy gate! We have an Australian Shepherd, and if you know the breed, they are quite energetic. This gate has been AMAZING! We are able to give our dog the space he needs when we are out of the house without worry. This gate STAYS PUT. It does not move or wiggle. It's also quite attractive, and not an eye soar like the old wooden gates. HIGHLY RECOMMEND for any breed that needs a taller gate, or if you just require a sturdy gate that will stay put. THANKS FRONTGATE!!!
Date published: 2015-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality These gates are better than I expected. Even the German Shepherds are respectful. They are attractive, well made, and sturdy. I bought the 34" expandable free-standing gate as well. More than pleased with both!
Date published: 2015-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made, looks incredible! I purchased this steel gate for two reasons; the height and beautiful design. I am a home breeder of persian cats and needed a gate to separate a pregnant mommy. Up until she gave birth we left the small cat door at the bottom open and she used it instantly. This is incredibly well made and ready use straight from the box. I absolutely love it. Make sure you measure the door you want to use this gate in because it is not really wide. If you have it at max capacity you will have large gaps on either side that a small animal can squeeze through. Our cats did not fit through, but a kitten would.
Date published: 2015-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice We purchased this for our new home to keep our two 15 year old cats from going to our second floor. This has worked good so far. I think one cat was able to sneak through the side bar one time - but it is a very attractive addition for our new home.
Date published: 2015-03-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work for cats, as advertised Cat was able to climb over this in a week. Does not work for cats. Perhaps it would work if it was not a mesh, which the cat can climb on. I am returning this item. The ad lead me to believe that it works with cats. Unfortunately I wasted my shipping charges - unless they are reimbursed.
Date published: 2015-03-17
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_158
  • loc_en_US, sid_46128, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 66ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Will my small 54lb Boxer get through the cat door? We had a shorter gate once and couldn't figure out if she got through the cat door or jumped over

Asked by: Jesco
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. The small gate opening is 6-3/4"W x 10"H. To see if your boxer will fit through it, we recommend measuring across her shoulders. Please also note that the small gate opening can be latched closed.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-04-16

Is this gate available without the cat door?

We will be using it to keep a cat out. Also, how easy is it to open the gate? One hand operation? Thanks
Asked by: klgiov
It is just a lever to open and shut the cat door, you can do it with one hand.
Answered by: GradyT
Date published: 2017-05-06

Cat Door Operation

I need a gate to keep my dogs out of a portion of the house so that the cats can have peace and a full food bowl! This gate seems perfect except it appears the cat door only swings one way and auto closes. That's awesome except that once the cat is on the other side, what do they do? Hop the fence? If that is the case, I may as well get a regular old gate. I just don't understand the purpose of the cat door if they can only use it one way. Thank you.
Asked by: ShanaBanana
I do not think that the cat door could be removed without cutting through its hinges using heavy duty power tool as is arrives fully assembled and the hinges of the cat are soldiered together. Removing the cat gate in this fashion would leave sharp edges where the hinges were cut. This would leave the potential for severe (even fatal) injuries to your cat or dog (henceforth referee to as a "cat gate" as I am using the smaller gate for my cat). It may be possible that an iron file would be capable of sanding the sharp edges down. Doing so would invariably leave markings on the area. I expect that this would also be very time consuming and would be difficult to do. We opted to keep the cat door open rather than attempt to remove it.When we installed the gate in our doorframe, we found that that the cat gate would swing partially closed when we opened and close the gate as well as after our tiny (5 lb) cat would walk through it per her tail bumping into the frame of the cat door. The cat door would only close partially such that there was only an inch or two between the two doors. Granted, our cat is older so I believe that the smaller opening confused her, it also made it impossible for her to run though it quickly when our 7momthold (50lb) Goldendoodle would chase her. If you do not have a dog that would be chasing your cat and he or she can be taught to bat the smaller opening enough to go through the cat gate thsi may not be an issue for you. However, if you goal is to keep the cat gate fully open then the partial closure would be a problem as is was for us. To remedy this issue, we placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie. When this occurred, our cat would just stand outside the door as if it were fully closed rather than paw it open. . To remedy the partial door closure issue and keep the cat door completely open, we placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie was appropri We placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie. That said., I would caution you not to over tighten the ziptie on the off chance (unlikely as the gate is quite sturdy) that it would mar the gate itself. This gate is fantastic despite the tiny bit of time it takes to secure the smaller gate in a fully open position. In fact, I had returned to this page to buy a second gate. Off to do so now! I hope that helps!
Answered by: LexiTwist
Date published: 2017-04-15

Is there a way to secure the small cat door so that it remains open?

Or can the small door be left off completely when assembling?
Asked by: Jakeblues
I do not think that the cat door could be removed without cutting through its hinges using heavy duty power tool as is arrives fully assembled and the hinges of the cat are soldiered together. Removing the cat gate in this fashion would leave sharp edges where the hinges were cut. This would leave the potential for severe (even fatal) injuries to your cat or dog (henceforth referee to as a "cat gate" as I am using the smaller gate for my cat). It may be possible that an iron file would be capable of sanding the sharp edges down. Doing so would invariably leave markings on the area. I expect that this would also be very time consuming and would be difficult to do. We opted to keep the cat door open rather than attempt to remove it.When we installed the gate in our doorframe, we found that that the cat gate would swing partially closed when we opened and close the gate as well as after our tiny (5 lb) cat would walk through it per her tail bumping into the frame of the cat door. The cat door would only close partially such that there was only an inch or two between the two doors. Granted, our cat is older so I believe that the smaller opening confused her, it also made it impossible for her to run though it quickly when our 7momthold (50lb) Goldendoodle would chase her. If you do not have a dog that would be chasing your cat and he or she can be taught to bat the smaller opening enough to go through the cat gate thsi may not be an issue for you. However, if you goal is to keep the cat gate fully open then the partial closure would be a problem as is was for us. To remedy this issue, we placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie. When this occurred, our cat would just stand outside the door as if it were fully closed rather than paw it open. . To remedy the partial door closure issue and keep the cat door completely open, we placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie was appropri We placed a black ziptie between the small cat door and main gate to keep the cat door open. The cat door does not sit exactly parallel to the main gateway but the difference is small and close enough to parallel that the difference is not obvious unless you are looking for the slight angle departure. Eyeballing it, I would say that the angle of departure from the main portion of the gate is approximately 15%. The departure from parallel is due to the knob on the cat door being a tiny bit larger than the the hinge on the cat door. When the ziptie is attached inbetween the back of the cat door knob and the decorative curl accents it is not visible from either side unless you are aware of and specifically looking for it. We positioned the end of the ziptie in between the cat door and the main portion of the gate.and then trimmed the the excess length. We used the ziptie rather than a thick string because we felt it was more secure (less apt to slip or beak).and we could obtain a more snug fit using the ziptie. That said., I would caution you not to over tighten the ziptie on the off chance (unlikely as the gate is quite sturdy) that it would mar the gate itself. This gate is fantastic despite the tiny bit of time it takes to secure the smaller gate in a fully open position. In fact, I had returned to this page to buy a second gate. Off to do so now! I hope that helps!
Answered by: LexiTwist
Date published: 2017-04-15

How wide are the slats on the sides? I have a 2 pound escape artist and need small slats.

Asked by: Squirrelfriend
The main bars are only 1/2" apart, so it would just depend how far out the tension screws need to be to fit your opening. That would likely be the widest gap.
Answered by: EdyQ
Date published: 2017-04-15

What gauge is the wire mesh?

I have two stafford shires and need to know the gauge of the wire mesh.
Asked by: KimT
It's hard steel mesh - not just screen material. I don't know the thickness of the steel wire itself, but the holes in it are just under 1/4 inch square, so there's not really any way to bite it or get a good grab on it. Our dachshunds are total escape artists, and this is the first gate that has ever held up to them. Good luck!
Answered by: EdyQ
Date published: 2017-04-15

Is it possible to purchase expand

Is it possible to purchase additional side piece to attach to expand to 45 inches wide. Would it work if I bought 2 gates and used pieces from 2nd one? Thank you Ilene
Asked by: iklein1
There are no side pieces available, and it's really almost all one piece, vs. needing assembly, so there wouldn't be an easy way to take anything off of a 2nd one - it's far too sturdy! However, our doorway is 40.75" wide. We built 2 columns our of framing studs trimmed with moulding and painted to match the other trim on our house. These allowed for a solid installation and helped full the gaps on the sides, because we have small dogs that are escape artists, plus they made the already beautiful gate look even more custom. Wish the website had an option to post photos...sorry!
Answered by: EdyQ
Date published: 2017-04-15

What width opening does this fit?

The description on the web page states "Easily installs in doorways that are 33.5"-37.5" wide", but the assembly instructions state "This product fits opening from 32.5''to 36.5''wide.Do not place the product outside this range." My opening is 37.0" wide.
Asked by: Elleanor
Our doorway is 40.75" wide. We built 2 columns our of framing studs trimmed with moulding and painted to match the other trim on our house. These allowed for a solid installation and helped full the gaps on the sides, because we have small dogs that are escape artists, plus they made the already beautiful gate look even more custom. Wish the website had an option to post photos...sorry!
Answered by: EdyQ
Date published: 2017-04-15

Can this used outdoors on a porch?

Asked by: Noahwade
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. This item is recommend for indoor use only.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-12-22

What is exact width of the actual opening?

What is the exact width of the actual opening of where the large dog/person goes through?
Asked by: Goldenintheburgh
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. The main gate opening is 22-3/8"W.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-08-31

Can this gate be mounted on wall?

I have used several tension-mount gates and I'm done with them. I need one I can mount on wall. Please advise. Thank you.
Asked by: Elphie
Yes, this mounts to the walls. It is very secure with the added tension pushing into the mounts.
Answered by: JAScat
Date published: 2016-12-03

Is the mesh steel? Can cat jump over the gate?

Is the mesh made of steel? Our cats are jerks and will destroy any mesh within an hour. Also can cats jump over this gate? Has anyone experienced this? Thanks!
Asked by: Racheljcs
This is a thicker mesh, not like a window screen. Yes, a very athletic cat could jump over it. One of our carts jumped from an end table over it.
Answered by: JAScat
Date published: 2016-12-03

Can a cat climb the mesh portion.

I am wanting to keep my cat from going upstairs. He needs a really tall gate and he will climb screen doors so I didn't know if the would be a suitable option.
Asked by: saskuya
Yes!! My cats LOVE it to get away from the puppy's rambunctiousness. It's very tall and has a little door to keep the cats in or out.
Answered by: JAScat
Date published: 2016-12-03

Will this fit a 30" doorway?

Would love to use this gate to keep both of our cats away from our nursery, but our doorways are only 30" wide, will this gate be able to be mounted in the doorway? Thank you.
Asked by: NurseryCats
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. Unfortunately, this will only fit doorways 33.5"-37.5" wide. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-09-11

Are the bars on the side panels on this dual door gate closer together than the gate with no dual door? I have very small yorkies.

I dont have cats so dont need dual door but afraid my yorkies could squeeze thru on the other gate. Hard to tell from pictures but dont want to spend extra money if i dont have to
Asked by: chibearfan
Well, our new kitten was able to zip through the sides very easily, after we applied it to our 36"-wide doorway. If there was a way to close that gap, we would not have returned it.
Answered by: justawful
Date published: 2016-10-01

Are you planning on having this exact type of door gate for doorways that are only 32 inches wide?

I need the door gate that opens and the cat door because I have a 90 pound lab-mix and 2 cats and I must keep the dog away from the cat's food and litter and I have issues that make climbing over a .gate too hard
Asked by: cache
This is not an answer but a second request to have this gorgeous gate in a smaller size. I have purchased the 42" and ABSOLUTELY love it. We have another home we wish to use this in but all the doors are smaller. Do hope you heed this request!
Answered by: dmartin336
Date published: 2017-02-10

Does the homeowner have to physically open the cat door?

I understand that the cat door has a latch. Does the homeowner have to unlatch the cat door to allow a cat to go in or out? Most healthy adult cats can easily jump over a 42" barrier, but if you chose to include cat gate, shouldn't the cat be able to "let himself out?" (In my opinion, a cat door should open when the cat pushes on it from either direction, because the gate itself is not a barrier to most cats; even a kitten should be able to climb over using the mesh)
Asked by: doxymo
There is a latch on one side, which can be left unlatched.
Answered by: JeannieMarie
Date published: 2016-09-10

Width

Would this item work on a doorway that is a bit smaller than 33 1/2 inches?
Asked by: Sheldansk
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. We do not recommend using this gate on an opening less then 33-1/2"W.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-08-16

How much does the unit weigh?

Asked by: Carol49
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. This item is 20 lbs.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-04-20

I would need to place the gate at the bottom of a staircase and need to have the door push out (away from me). Is that possible?

Asked by: KateCor
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. This gate can be set up facing either direction allowing the gate to open from the side you choose.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-07-03

I have had this gate for several years and need new adjuster knobs- how/ where can I get these?

Asked by: AdenEmma1
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. We are sorry to hear you need new adjusters. Please contact our customer service at 1-888-263-9850 or service@frontgate.com for further assistance. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-03-23

WOULD LIKE TO KEEP 2 SIX MONTH OLD KITTENS UP STAIRS AND NOT RACE TO DOOR AT BOTTOM AND TRY AND GET OUT! ANY HELPFUL HINTS.

Asked by: HETCH
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. This may keep cats away from your door if they are still too young to climb or jump it as the small door can be latched. However, we do not recommend placing this gate at the top of a staircase; it should only be placed at the bottom.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-03-01

Wall To Wall is 37.5"

Will this gate fit an area that measures 37.5" wall to wall?
Asked by: Anonymous
I did exactly what you said I added a stained board to solve that problem I had a real problem finding one to keep my 3 lb yorkie in she could get through all the other gates
Answered by: Bamagail
Date published: 2017-06-05

Size if kitty door

I want to know how large the cat door is. I have a pug that I need to keep out but a grown cat that I want to have access. Can the pug (just your standard pug) fit through the opening?
Asked by: Javasnob
my 3 lb yorkie and my sister 4 lb Havashire can get through it easy
Answered by: Bamagail
Date published: 2016-03-19

Description shows width 33.5"-37.5", does the measurement include the tension bumpers? Our doorway is 33.5" exactly.

Asked by: CadeM
I am guessing tou would not have to wind the adjusters out to far, I have a 36 in door so I had to wind the out pretty far which caused the bigger gap btween the wall and frame This mad me have to put a board in between mine to keep my puppy in
Answered by: Bamagail
Date published: 2016-09-14

I would like to purchase 2 of these, but one I would need to expand across a wider opening. Does this have an expandable option? Thank you

Would a wall installed option possible be available in addition to tension.
Asked by: lindamason
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. This gate is only designed for doorways that are 33.5"-37.5" wide.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2015-06-22

Including the extra tension mounts, what is the widest the gate will go?

Asked by: Megamess
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. This item extends to 37-1/2"W with tension mounts.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2015-04-03

Will it extend to fit a 40" wide doorway?

Asked by: dogmomma2
The 42"H Tension - mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate only expands to fit a 37-1/2"W opening.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2015-03-18

Does it come with hinges on the other side?

I need the gate to swing open to the left. When you are looking at it and open it towards you, I need it to open to the left. Turning it around is not an option because it is placed at the bottom of steps.
Asked by: Cats2plus1
The 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate's door can not be moved to the other side. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Answered by: MLRFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-02-10

Can this gate be easily painted? I need a white one.

Asked by: bgskie
The 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate can be painted.
Answered by: MLRFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-07-25
  • y_2017, m_10, d_18, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_46128, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 48ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Product:46128-42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Mesh Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]