Top_Nav_v2_Font
WEBFGA
  30 6 0 More... More... text html 2000 300

42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Mesh Pet Gate

[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address

18
100 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Mesh Pet Gate is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 165.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have tried many others and this beats them all This gate is great for small and large pets and is very beautiful also. It is not just a piece of plastic or wood that your pet can chew through. Not only sturdy but very elegant in appearance. It is of superior quality..You will not be disappointed . Love the little door for my tiny dog.
Date published: 2015-03-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Be Careful about dimensions My gate was delivered by UPS today. The metal frame was sprung so bad that the gate wouldn't close well enough to latch. Their description said the gate would work for an opening with width up to 37.5 inches, and the width of the hallway I bought it for is 36.5 inches. Although I was able to tighten the knobs on each side of the gate frame to where it stayed put, there was a large enough gap between the gate and the wall on both sides for my cat to get through. So I'll put a piece of 2 X 4 lumber up against the wall on each side of the gate so my cat can't get through. Not at all the classy look I was after by buying this gate.
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased Very pleased with this well-made door. It's attractive and sturdy and allows the cats access to areas where the dogs are not permitted. I especially like the height and how easy it is to open the latch, even with an armful of laundry.
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CLASSY DOGGY GATE THIS IS AWESOME, AND BEAUTIFUL. IT FITS GREAT AND YOU CAN KEEP IT UP ALL THE TIME BECAUSE IT OPENS UP FOR ME TO GO THROUGH AND IT HAS THE LITTLE ONE AT THE BOTTOM FOR YOUR SMALL PET TO GO IN AND OUT WITHOUT OPENING THE BIG GATE. LOVE IT!!! VERY NICE QUALITY PRODUCT
Date published: 2015-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great solid gate! This gate is well built and solid! I've owned many gates over the years. My blue Doberman is energetic and a big lummox, so she can often take down a flimsy gate with the push of her paw. This one not at all! I really love this gate if you haven't gotten the jest as yet! Only one thing would make it better was if (it came in white or other colors). Even though it's beautiful with a bronze finish, it also makes it stand out like a sore thumb, against the white walls of the hall.
Date published: 2015-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect solution for dogs and cats I bought two of these gates when I brought a small dog into my home with three cats. I have a three story townhouse with hardwood floors through out my house. My little dog doesn't get any traction on the stairs so I need to carry him up and down. My cats need access to their litter boxes in the garage. The gate(s) are perfect. They contain the dog, yet the "kitty door" is so handy for the cats. They can go up and down the stairs as these please. The gate is also attractive and sturdy. When I called about the. gate, because I did have some questions, the service representative did a fabulous job. She was so helpful! I now own three gates and I do highly recommend them.
Date published: 2014-12-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from We wanted this to work We wanted this gate to work. We need the extra height as we have large dogs. The installation instructions stated for small to medium pets 8-44 lbs. I don't recall seeing this on the product details. However small animals could pass right through either side. I was very disappointed in this gate. We purchased two and paid for expedited delivery. They are sturdy but the openings on either side are large enough for a cat or slender dog to slide right through. No need for a cat door. A dog could get its head caught in the sides easily or animals you may wish to separate can still reach each other. This gate will not work with a 36" frame without leaving close to 4 inches on either side. Would be nice if they would make extensions for this. This gate is listed as working in openings 33.5 to 37.5. but if you're opening is more than 35, you will most likely not be happy with this product if you are trying to separate animals or do not wish a cat or small animal to pass through the sides. I called to speak with their installation experts and they confirmed there was nothing we could do to correct this.
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful gate - cat door very flimsy While this is a beautiful gate – please be careful. I have three large breed dogs 70-80 lbs. and ordered this gate because it was tall enough for them not to jump over it (not the cat door). We had the gate installed for one week and a dog managed to open the cat door which is not very secure. She broke the hinges off the cat door removing it from the gate and somehow managed to fit through the cat door. She has arthritis so there is no way she went over the gate. I am just happy that she did not hurt herself but please be careful and secure the cat door if you are not using it. Now I have to figure out how to reattach the cat door and permanently seal it.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful gate This is a beautiful gate. I already own the shorter one for about 3 years so I know it's durable and worth it. Actually ordered another one!
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit This was a gift for a friend who has 2 Afghan hounds and was in desperate need of a way to keep them out of the kitchen. I delivered it to her and helped install it, which was super simple. She LOVED it. It is well constructed, easy to use, attractive (bonus), and TALL. Of course the ultimate question is: Did it keep them out? YES!! Neither dog has figured out how to traverse this bad boy. Highly recommend it.
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Pet/BabyGate Ever I now have 4 of these in various places in my home which allow me to control access of pets and small children to parts of my home that are not pet or child-proof. Attractive, nice quality, blend in with furnishings, automatically close, easy to install or remove temporarily. Tall enough for large dogs and to prevent young children from opening them. Love these gates - they do a great job!
Date published: 2014-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice gate, good customer support I love this gate. It keeps my two big dogs out of the kitchen and it looks very pretty. It's easy to open and close the gate, which only opens one way. The latch is easy, everything is easy. Now all we need is one that expands a bit wider and looks exactly the same. This gate only fits very narrow doorways. Most places in my house I need a gate are too wide for this one and there is no other wider option yet.
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Gate We also have the free standing expandable version of this gate for the past 3 years, we moved needed another gate in a doorway. The gates are very durable- I have a 165 pound mastiff. The gates match each other and match my 100 year old colonial home. We always receive compliments from guest. We also have a cat, we love the walkthrough for the cat. Super easy to install. Worth every penny!
Date published: 2014-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY NICE LOOKING AS WELL AS USEFUL it looks great, is fine quality and useful for my 2 large dogs and 1 small dog
Date published: 2014-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate is saving my house! I have 14 rescue dogs who are all allowed in the house but the lower free-standing gates I ordered from you last year, which I also love, were easily jumped by a batch of smooth fox terriers that we are re-homing. I ordered two of these and they are easy to install and look lovely in my ante-bellum style home. My formal areas look pretty but are off limits to the dogs thanks to these very lovely sturdy and easy to open gates.
Date published: 2014-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive, quality barrier & gate We installed it two weeks ago in an archway (no door frame) between the kitchen and a hall to separate two large resident dogs from a temporarily resident cat (while cat and owner look for a new home in this area). We used two 2x6s on each side of the arch (painted to match the walls) to make it narrow enough (39.25 – 6 = 33.25”) for the gate to fit tight and no gaps: 2 screws into studs to attach the first 2x6 (notched to fit over baseboards), and 2 screws to attach the second 2x6 on top of the first with these screws placed so they are covered by the pressure pads. Easy to patch 4 screw holes in arch walls when the gate comes down. Gate opens into the dog side so opening it backs them up; added screws on the cat side next to the pressure pads in case the dogs push against the gate; wired the little door shut. The frame sits on the tile kitchen floor, not “floated” above. The installation is quite sturdy but just to be sure we close the cat in the bedroom when nobody is home. Easy to unlatch the gate and step through – we never let it slam. In frequent daily use, the hinges that seemed noisy at first are hardly noticeable.
Date published: 2014-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Pleased! I am very pleased with this gate. It is well made and looks beautiful in the doorway. It was extremely easy to put into the doorway right out of the box. One thing of note - For some reason, I did not receive the installation hardware at the time of shipping, but a quick call and I received everything I needed within 3 days. Highly Recommended.
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful gate! This is a beautiful gate. The height is tall enough for any dog. However, on each side there is a big gap which my Maltese can squeeze through. I ended up purchasing clear fiberglass pieces to keep her from doing so. The gate came detached from the base, so I had some difficulty getting it on. I had to use my own screws and "rig" it, but when all was said and done it is a beautiful gate.
Date published: 2014-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not 5 stars! The overall appearance is good. It would be nice to have some sort of brackets to attach permanently to the wall. Also, I could do without the small animal gate on the bottom. I have to think of a way glue it shut because it is easily opened and I will never use it.
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Tension Mount Pet Gate We have had this gate for about 4 weeks now and have really enjoyed it. We put it on the entrance to our master bedroom which can be seen when we have guests over. We have wood floors everywhere downstairs except our room which is carpet and we don't want the dogs in there. I wanted something a little more "fancy" than just a standard baby gate which we are using in the utility room. It's very sturdy and has a smaller pet gate that you can open at the bottom if necessary (we don't use it). The latch is easy for all 3 of my kids to use without any trouble . The only negative in my opinion is that it only swings one way, it won't go both directions. I still gave it 5 stars even though it doesn't do that just because it's something that I have to get used to. My other gate will go either way, however if I did not have the other one I probably wouldn't even notice.
Date published: 2014-08-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Quality and Functional While this is obviously a good quality pet gate, the workmanship is betrayed by a few easy fixes. The gate itself doesn't fit a standard doorway - it is considerably larger but the things that I found most irritating are the horrendous amount of noise the hinges make even after I applied WD40 and the thunderous crashing sound each time the door closes. This constant rattle and crashing definitely detracts from the beauty of the gate.
Date published: 2014-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Gate I love this gate so much I bought a 2nd one. It is very sturdy and far prettier than any other gate I've ever seen. Friends than come over are always asking me where I got it. It's extra tall too so my lab can't jump over it. I like how it opens one way and auto closes so we don't actually have to "lock" it which makes going through the doorway so much easier.
Date published: 2014-07-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Strong spring-back makes for constant adjustments This gate looks great, or it did for the first few days before it slammed shut and knocked itself loose and fell over. Detail work broke with that first fall. If you have a smaller door frame it may be ok, but there is no stability with a bit wider door where almost fully extended. I did not want to have holes in my door frames, so purchased this gate. I would not get this one again as it is always slipping out of place and I am constantly adjusting. If you do not have kids(or neighbor kids) you could probably control this factor, but no so for me. Keeps the dogs out most of the time, but one of mine always checks to see if it has moved from being slammed shut and made the latch not catch, then not quite effective. I have the freestanding model and will most likely get another of those instead - it is nice a sturdy and does not slide out of place when it slams shut...
Date published: 2014-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very effective gate I'm fostering a kitty that's FIV+, but I have 2 healthy cats of my own. They cannot come in contact with each other at all. I needed a gate that I knew the cats couldn't jump over or get through. Frontgate is the only company that has such a gate. It's a nice bronze color and is attractive and decorative, unlike most of the other gates out there. I like the fact that it is tension-mounted so it can be moved if need be. None of the cats has attempted to scale the gate, and I don't think they will in the future either. Previously, I was using a 30" high fireplace screen and had to move it or climb over it, so the self-closing walk through feature is wonderful! I lucked out because it was on sale plus free shipping when I found it! The reason I rated it 4 stars instead of 5 is due to the limited extension width of only 33.5-37.5". My space is on the wider side at 36.5", so there were gaps in the side bars that my smaller cat would undoubtedly climb through. I read many of the reviews and found that several people who had the same issue remedied it by using pieces of plexiglas on each side, so that's what I've done also. It takes away from the beauty of the gate a bit, but solves the gap problem. It would be nice if a wider gate was available, or at least one with bars on the sides that were closer together. In summary, though, this is a great gate. It solved my problem, made my life easier and looks pretty good. I would recommend this product.
Date published: 2014-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a gate that contains my climbing dog! I had been using the old wood baby gates to keep my two dogs contained in a room while I was away. My 9 lb dog quickly learned how to climb the gate. I added a second gate on top, and she successfully climbed that gate, or she would someone knock the bottom gate down, even though it was tight against the sides. I started putting baskets, 5 gallon water bottles and anything else in the room to create a gauntlet. Finally, I searched and found the Frontgate metal, mesh gate. So easy for me to leave now with a simple latch. And the dog can't climb, and in 2 weeks, she hasn't knocked it down. Thank you Frontgate!
Date published: 2014-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone Loves the Look of this Gate Not only does everyone love the look, but the functionality for multi-species-households (dog, cat, human) is the best I've ever seen. Even my dog trainer commented on it at first glimpse. I've never heard so many people comment so positively and enthusiastically on something so utilitarian as this gate. And the cats, in particular are thrilled, only poor Fido can't come and go at will :( . It's one of the best buys I've ever made.
Date published: 2014-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well-made gate Very attractive and sturdy gate in a taller than usual size. Put in place easily, works well and no way dogs can jump this height!
Date published: 2014-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pet Gate - No More Gates To Constantly Undo! Excellent! We are so pleased with this product. We were able to get rid of 3 conventional wooden gates throughout the house. Now we can rest assured that the cat and two big dogs will not meet within the same household. The cat could jump over the other gates, but not this one! Major bonus for us is the gate - for our easy passage. The installation was easy. Highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2014-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good design, quality and appearance We purchased this for our 8 week old standard poodle puppy. It arrived quickly, was well packaged and came with good instructions for mounting to door frame. Installation took some time, needed to make a few adjustments tightening or loosening on one side or the other so that door could shut and not hit doorknob. Success! I recommended using the double stick mounting pads and mounting door as low as possible as takes some getting used to walking thru gate without an occasional trip on the bottom frame which can jar the mounting pads away from the door frame if not securely mounted. The color is oil rubbed bronze and it is well made and looks beautiful because our deck railings are a similar color and design so they compliment one another. Our puppy is now 12 weeks and growing by the week so I am not sure how much longer she can use the puppy / kitty door so my only wish was another option with a larger dogie door that be left open or latched shut like this one.
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 42" H FRONTGATE Pet Gate The gate is well made and is attractive; more of custom look than the competitors offer. The locking mechanism works easily and smoothly, so when the spring loaded door swings closed the mechanism always latches or when you close it lightly. Although the gate contains my 30 pound, 7 month old Wheaten Terrier puppy using just the gate tension after adjustment, a heavier dog might be able to push the gate down so I would recommend using the included plastic cups that can be screwed to the wall. The Frontgate website has the assembly instructions available, which should answer any further questions.
Date published: 2014-04-05
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_158
  • loc_en_US, sid_46128, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 117ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Can this gate be easily painted? I need a white one.

Asked by: bgskie
The 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate can be painted.
Answered by: MLRFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-07-25

Can I get the gate with the cat access at 52" wide?

Asked by: WiderGate
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. Unfortunately the cat door is not adjustable.
Answered by: MLRFrontgateService
Date published: 2014-03-26

Does the gate maker make gap fillers?

My 2 pound escape artist yorkie can fit through the gate sides when fully extended. I have found several gates that you can buy gap fillers for, however, I can't find any for this 42" gate.
Asked by: ALI1
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. Gap fillers are not available for the Tension-Mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-02-10

expansion panels?

Can I purchase expansion panels for this gate? I need a much wider width but I love the height, the style and the auto-close feature!
Asked by: olayak
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. Expansion Panels are not available for the 42"H Tension-mount Dual-Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2014-01-18

The force of the hinge spring causes the gate to become unattached from the wall.

I have had this gate installed for 3 weeks. The spring hinge is VERY strong, and sometimes gets out of one's hand, when closing it (or one's hands are full). This causes, over time, the gate to un-attach from it's pressure-attached screws on the edges. Causing the gate to either fall off, or to become diagonally/obliquely askew. Has anyone else had this problem? And how did you solve it? (the door frame it is attached to is high gloss paint, if that makes any difference.)
Asked by: Joy56
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The knobs for the Tension-mount Dual Door Pet Gate should have rubber pads on the ends to prevent the gate from slipping once it has been mounted. If you continue to experience issues, please contact our Product Specialists at 800-537-8484 for further assistance.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-11-29

Gaps on the side of extended gate?

My doorway is 36 inches wide. I have seen previous reviewers mention that when gate is fully extended, there is room on either side for cats to squeeze through. How much space can I expect on the sides if the gate is extended to fit my 36 inch doorway? My 18 pound French bulldog/pug mix is an escape artist and I've had a hard time finding ways to contain her!
Asked by: avalonlight
Gaps are only 1/4 to 1/3 inch between the slats.
Answered by: Joy56
Date published: 2013-11-26

My door is 30 inch. Would this work in that area?

Asked by: Elia
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The Tension-mount Dual Door Pet Gate requires an opening that is at least 33.5" wide. Unfortunately, this gate would be too wide for your doorway.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-05-29

What is the shortest width door this will fit in?

We have a door that is 32" wide and love the way this gate looks but don't know if it would fit the width of our door.
Asked by: oldharley
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The minimum width to install the 42"H Tension Mount Pet Gate is 33.5 inches.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-10-26

Other Sizes

I have a Rhodesian Ridgeback and would really like to have this type of gate for my home but my doorways are 30". I'm certain if it was offered in differing sizes there is a market...can we expect that to happen?
Asked by: OldArmyWife
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. At this time we do not have plans to make the 42"H Tension-Mount gate in other widths.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-02-10

Do you have this product with a shorter Height. My dog is very small and I just want to keep him away from the stairs.

Asked by: belladolce
Thank you for your interest in Frontgate. The Tension-mount Mesh Pet Gate is available in a smaller style. We recommend the 22"H Expandable Steel Mesh Pet Gate, Item# 42957.
Answered by: JHFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-10-21

I want to mount this on the first stair with opening of 37 1/4" Can it be done in a way that cats can open the door to go upstairs? I

Asked by: ohflorida1
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Steel Mesh Pet Gate. Both doors on the gate must be manually opened.
Answered by: MZFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-10-21

our door is 32 inches wide, thus, this gate will not fi??

Asked by: doglover99
It will fit fine
Answered by: mainedogowner
Date published: 2016-07-23

Does the door swing both ways? How does it latch?

Asked by: 5BigDogs
The door swings inward only. It close behind you with a nice latch. When you mount it, you will need to make sure the spacing is even on both sides for the latch to close. I love ours. Picture below with our 4 Dalmatians
Answered by: Parker
Date published: 2017-06-05

How wide is this product? I am looking for a gate for an opening of only 27 inches. Do you have anything that will work for such a small opening?

Thank you in advance. Helene
Asked by: Charlierose
Thank you for your interest in the 42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Gate. The gates width ranges from 33-1/2"-37-1/2"W. We do offer the 20"H Freestanding Barrier(item 30191) that has a width ranging from 27"-40"W.
Answered by: MZFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-10-21

Can this gate be used on stairs

I have several cats and I want to keep them from going upstairs in my home.
Asked by: Chloe4631
The gate has to be mounted correctly before the latch will stay closed. If you can create enough tension using a stair rung and the wall, (or whatever you will be attaching it to) then I think it would be perfect!
Answered by: jemstar2
Date published: 2017-07-30

Would this product work as a baby gate? We want to block our crawling baby from the cat food & litter area, but not block the cats.

Asked by: webcollins
I would be wary of a crawling baby or toddler getting their head stuck in the cat door....
Answered by: jemstar2
Date published: 2013-10-21

Can the cat door be secured so a dog cannot push it open?

Asked by: AussieMom
I was thinking of using the twist tie that came with the gate to secure the cat door. Twist and cut short on the outside to prevent pet scrathes... I think my cat might learn to play with the lever and simply lift it up and don't trust just that latch. Give that a try!
Answered by: jemstar2
Date published: 2013-10-21

Does this 42 inch meat gate come in wider widths? I need it to be at least 52 inches

Asked by: Lender
It is 42" TALL not wide.
Answered by: ITSALLGOOD
Date published: 2017-08-15

What is the height of item 46128?

In the catalog I just received the height is shown as 33 3/4" but on the web sight it is indicated as 42". Which is correct.? Does it come in two different heights?
Asked by: Dee-Dee
mine arrived and was 42"
Answered by: Dichelle
Date published: 2014-10-19

I had the same issue as the previous question. Do you anticipate this product or something similar coming out soon in the 34" height?

I have seen Item 30193, but would like to get an expanding tension gate, 34" in height that is a little more decrative like the mesh gate.
Asked by: StephJ
We appreciate your interest in this item. Unfortunately, we do not anticipate receiving a similar item as this one in a smaller size. However, we do offer our 34”H Expandable Free-standing Mesh Pet Gate, item 42955, which may be a suitable alternative. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Answered by: KMFrontgateService
Date published: 2013-10-21
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_24CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_46128, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 88ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Product:46128-42"H Tension-mount Dual Door Mesh Pet Gate
Now Accepting PayPal
[Inspiration_Bar_Header_ESpot]
???WCM_CHOKING_HAZARD_CONTENT_1???
[Email_Subscribe_Window]