[ProductDetail_TopEspot]
[ProductDetail_RightEspot]
Please enter valid email address. Your password will be reset and sent to your email account. Enter your Email Address and click 'Continue' Example: name@domain.com Submit Cancel Forgot Password Close /Frontgate/US/Global/Popups/forgot_password Enter your email address

18
100 0
false
false
false
false pdp {"scheme":"product1_cr"}
false pdp {"scheme":"product2_cr"}
[ProductDetail_Espot01]
[ProductDetail_Espot02]
World Magnetic Travel Map with Burlwood Frame is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 66.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well done! I purchased this magnetic map with Burl frame for my husband. We’re planning our future trips while admiring where we’ve been. We’ve marked the locations of our 19 former exchange students.
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Purchasers should be offered replacement maps The map would be beautiful if not for the ink spot that blacks out Moldova. With so many reviews pointing out this flaw, why are these maps still being sent out? The company should offer a free replacement.
Date published: 2017-12-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ink spot. Going to return this. Ink spot over Europe. If the spot was not there, I would definitely keep it.
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ink Spot Could be a nice piece for the price, however ours also came with the large ink spot over Moldova. There was also a smaller area where they tried to cover up another mark. We will return and try again.
Date published: 2017-12-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ink spot on map - looks terrible! We ordered and received this map 3 separate times telling Frontgate about the ink spot. To no avail. We decided to request a refund after 3 tries!
Date published: 2017-12-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ink Spot I bought 2 maps - one for me and one for a gift. Both had the dark ink spot that others have mentioned
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Spot on map My map also has an ink spot on it. The spot is large (almost half an inch) and obvious.
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Beware! The FIRST map we received had an inky spot over the country of Moldova. We reordered it, the SECOND one came with the same spot. We called CS who agreed to investigate. We were advised a few weeks later that it was a manufacturing defect that was corrected. We ordered a THIRD one that we were assured would be fine and would be quality checked before shipping. It was received with the SAME DEFECT. We have decided to keep the one with the best frame condition and are returning 2. We will have to put a couple of the magnets over the spot to hide it. We were informed that Frontgate was unable to offer us any credit or further discount on the item as it is a "signature" item, whatever that means. We are disappointed as we expected a much better product from Frontgate.
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from They don't match my original magnets I'm disappointed that these magnets don't match the original ones that came with my map. I should have just bough other random magnets elsewhere for cheaper.
Date published: 2017-10-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality We have purchased the world, France, and Italy magnetic maps as we are travel enthusiasts and love maps for planning our future trips. We also love having maps for our children to learn geography. All three of those maps have been decent quality. However, we ordered two Europe maps (1 as a gift) and both had problems with the frame. One frame did not have the edges mitered correctly and the entire map was warped. The other map had a frame that crumbled when we took it out of the box. We returned the maps and got replacements. Both of the replacements had nicks on the frame but we decided to live with them because returning such a large item is challenging. It is sad that 4/4 maps were defective because it is such a great product.
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful My husband has been looking for something to hang on a wall in his basement "man cave/bar" so when i saw this at the store, i immediately knew this was the perfect choice. I bought the darker framed map instead of the lighter framed one, but both were beautiful and elegant. I had texted my husband a picture but he didn't react to it but i bought this map anyway and hung it up (my husband needs to see things in place before he likes or dislikes something). When he got home and saw it, he immediately LOVED it. We have darker furniture in the man cave and the darker framed map blended perfectly. I am so happy with this purchase, and more importantly, my husband is too.
Date published: 2017-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My husband and I waffled for awhile about buying this map - would it be too big and colorful? No, it's wonderful. Size is appropriate for a travel map, and the colors are muted enough for the home. It came in great condition and ready to hang. We immediately hung it and started placing magnets, pure fun. You might want extra magnets -
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Frontgate tried, 3 strikes and you're out My husband and I purchased this for our home, with small children to show where our travels can and will take us. The first map came with the frame stapled through the front of the map, all of the frame staples were showing, and support pieces had unglued from the back of the frame. Called and customer service was great, had to pay for another one, while I got credited the 1st (stinks) but a second map was sent. 2nd Map arrived in worse condition than the 1st, broken frame and a warped map. Called again, again customer service was great, this time sent me a 3rd map and scheduled UPS to come directly to my home for pick up of 2nd. Ensured quality would check the map, and it appears they did, frame was perfect but 1 day out of the box, map warped and the support pieces on back of frame fell off. It's a beautiful map, but whatever glue they are using doesn't work. And in no way looks like you spent $200+ on it. Wish it would :(
Date published: 2017-01-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from POOR Workmanship/quality-would NOT purchase again Received the map, frame had large gaps and did not butt up properly in the corners, the map is basically glued on to a heavy backer board, the map was bubbling up in several places as it was not glued properly. Also, the support in the back of frame had come undone because of a poor staple job. I returned it, new map came and deep scratches on the frame. Two times is unacceptable, quality control and workmanship is horrible on this particular item. Wish I had an option to add photos to this review but Frontgate does not give that as an option.
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Magnets changed Love this map which I have had for a few years. Very disappointed to find out that the size of the magnets that are now sold by Frontgate are a much larger size than previously sold for a number of years. These current magnets are really too large for this map, and they cover too much of the area/words now. I will be returning the magnets, even though a FG rep told me that they may charge me a return fee for returning them, even though they changed their product.
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Map is Amazing, the New Magnets are Not I bought the magnetic world map three years ago and have loved it, since buying multiple incremental packages for additional magnets. I ordered a new set this past spring (thrilled to see you could now order specific colors) and waited four months to receive them, during which I would receive a daily email pushing the shipment date back an additional day. I finally received the magnets and was dismayed to see that they are now significantly fatter and shorter than before. Because of the wider diameter, it makes marking the map accurately much more difficult. I wish that the vendor / product had remained the same as I planned to add to this map for many years to come. The Frontgate website still showcases the image of the original, slender and longer magnets when you go to order, which I believe should be changed if that is no longer the product on offer. I spoke with several customer service representatives a few weeks ago who told me they would submit a work order and let me know (by a date which has since passed) whether the old magnets were at all available. I would love a follow up to my inquiry.
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Two Tries: double Fail After re-ordering due to two failed quality control issues (one wrinkle across Russia and another map that had been dented across the Pacific) we are very disappointed. Both times we re-ordered it, it cost 13+ minutes on the phone with customer service and then repackaging a huge 33 lb map. What a waste of time. Quality control needs major improvement.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Additional Magnets Map is beautiful and the 20 magnets that come with it are great quality. The 50 additional magnets are cheap plastic and do not match the magnets that came with the map.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Caution The map is very nice but seems larger than we expected. The problem is the magnets. We travel a lot, so we ordered the extra 50 to go with the 50 that are supposed to be included. We originally only received 20. After much time on backorder we got the additional 50, which are not at all the same look or quality as the originals. They will send the missing 30 when available from the manufacturer, but can give no idea (weeks, months?) when that will be. If you don't care about the magnets it's a great choice, but that was why we thought it would be fun for our family.
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from World Magnetic Travel Map I was very happy with the map itself. It is beautiful! BUT...it was supposed to come with 50 magnets and it only came with 20. I had read in previous reviews that this was an issue. I also ordered extra magnets and just received an email that they are backordered. DO NOT ORDER THE PLAQUE! I was very unhappy with this! I won't even use it. It wasn't centered and was so lightly engraved you couldn't even read what it said. One of the four magnets on the back had also fallen out and was glued randomly to the back of the plaque. So to recap...Map - Happy; Magnets/Plaque - Unhappy.
Date published: 2016-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive home office accessory The world magnetic travel map is a handsome accessory to my home office. It's arrival was delayed several weeks but Frontgate offered a discount for the inconvenience. The only problem compelling me to remove one star was the different size of the magnets that came with the piece and the extra set ordered at the same time. Apparently the smaller magnets are no longer available and the 2 different sizes take away from the overall attractiveness.
Date published: 2016-03-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheap Imitation I already own the magnetic Rand McNally World Map, a quality product from Frontgate. I wanted to add this map of Europe, but found it to be a huge disappointment. The coloring was poorly done, and many of the colors were off by as much as 1/4 inch. Some countries (e.g., Luxembourg) were not even separated, and German/French borders were not decipherable. This was more a novelty item than an accurate map of Europe. I would not recommend this item.
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the map but have trouble with the magnets We have wanted to map our travels for years and the idea of using magnets, rather than push pins, is what prompted us to purchase this product over several others on the market. We love the map itself and the frame is quite nice looking. However, we have been disappointed with the magnets. When we received our map, we received 18 magnets instead of the 50 it promises on the website. I contacted customer service and they apologized and sent a set of 50 magnets which we appreciated. However, the new magnets are half the size of the originals and do not have the same magnetic strength. While they initially stick to the map, they are more prone to falling off when touched--something that will happen as we add magnets to destinations close to existing travel sites. All in all, we are satisfied but not over-the-top happy which is why I rated the map a 4 instead of a 5. We talked about adding a US magnetic travel map to better document our US travels but have decided we won't purchase that for 2 reasons: its size (it's as huge as the world map and we don't have adequate wall space) and the magnet issue.
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect piece of art! Our travels have taken us around the world and it's fun and interesting to see where we have been. Our visitors always ask where we got the map and I'm happy to tell them!
Date published: 2015-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Magnets for Travel Map It is a good product but somewhat pricey. I could not find a replacement anywhere else!!
Date published: 2015-06-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Personalized Plaque for U.S. and World Magnetic Tr The printing quality is poor, the ink is so light that you can hardly read it.
Date published: 2015-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Travel Map Love the travel map. It is large and colorful with a slight Old World appearance. The frame is nice quality. Several reviews commented on the magnets. A reasonable amount of the magnets is included with the picture.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good idea. Although a box of magnets comes with each map it is nice to have an extra set. This allows you to mark more things in a specific color and not run out.
Date published: 2015-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gift to grandchild. We bought both the U.S. and World maps and had them mounted in our family room. They are very nice quality and beautifully framed. We show our 8 year old granddaughter the location of current events and teach her some geography in the process. Good refresher for grandpa and grandma too.
Date published: 2015-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great The map was a gift for my husband. He absolutely loved it.
Date published: 2015-03-02
  • y_2018, m_4, d_20, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_66
  • loc_en_US, sid_145684_BUR, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 93ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

In the reviews it's been mentioned that there is a black ink spot over one of the countries.  Has this been corrected

Asked by: Boxes
Thank you for your interest in the World Magnetic Travel Map with Burlwood Frame. Any known issues with this item have been addressed. This item also comes with our One-Year Guarantee.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2018-01-15

The maps above for the world magnetic travel map with burlwood frame are different. For instance Western Australia has more detail in the first picture. Which map are you selling and why are they different?

Asked by: Charmain
Thank you for your interest in the World Magnetic Travel Map. Both pictures are the same map just taken at different angles and distances.
Answered by: RWFrontgateService
Date published: 2018-02-05

I'm interested in purchasing this map, but I noticed recent reviews speak of all sorts of problems and defects with the map and the frame. Has this been resolved? How easy is it to receive a replacement?

Asked by: AlexandraV
Thank you for your interest in the World Magnetic Travel Map with Burlwood Frame. At Frontgate, our primary focus is quality. Any known issues with this item have a been address. However, if for any reason you are not satisfied, simply return it within 90 days and we'll replace it or refund the cost of the item (excluding Shipping and Processing fees). In addition, we will repair or replace any product for a full year from the date of purchase. Also this item is currently part of our Experience Frontgate collection. If you're not completely satisfied with any Experience Frontgate item, return it within 30 days for a full refund including shipping costs.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2018-01-02

Do you know where I can purchase additional magnetic pins for your maps?

Asked by: bobcat21
Thank you for your interest in the Magnetic Travel Maps. We do offer additional magnets for this map. Please see our Set of 50 Additional Magnets (145686).
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-12-21

How do you hang this; that is what kind of wire. Instructions advise NOT picture hanging wire???

Asked by: AnnMA
Thank you for your interest in the Italy Travel Map. Picture wire is not recommend due to the weight of this item. We recommend purchasing properly sized anchors for your wall material and using the mounting D-rings, with one screw in each ring, or the keyhole mounts, with one screw in each hole, that are on the back of this item.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2018-01-15

When I get ready to order this item, it says product recall. What does that mean?

Asked by: kim01
Thank you for your interest in the Set of 50 Additional Magnets. There was a recall on a previous version of these magnets; however, our new magnets meet all safety standards and do not have a recall. We are looking into why this is showing up in your cart. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-12-05

How do I provide the last name that I want to be written on the Map?

Asked by: Guayo
Thank you for your interest in the Magnetic Travel Maps. Please call in to our Product Specialist Department at 800-537-8484 and they can assist you with this.
Answered by: RWFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-12-01

Is there a key on the map to distinguish the different color magnetic pins and what they mean?

Asked by: LoriEllen
Thank you for your interest in the World Magnetic Travel Map with Burlwood Frame. There is no key on this map to what the magnet colors mean which allows you to determine what to use each color for and to give your map your own personal meaning.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-09-26

How many magnets of each color are sent in the original package of 50?

I wanted to know how much of each color I will receive and what is the standard use for the meaning of the different colors? Are the red used to track where you have been, the green where you want to go, etc.?
Asked by: thefinnishflash
Thank you for your interest in the World Magnetic Travel Map with Burlwood Frame. This map comes with fifty magnets in five different colors, ten in each color. You can use the different colors however you choose.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-09-01

Can this hold magnetic souvenirs?

Can this hold magnetic souvenirs? They are not too heavy, looking for replacement from our fridge.
Asked by: Diya
Thank you for your interest in the U.S. Magnetic Travel Map. This item will work with magnets other than the ones included. However, we do not recommend using with large magnets or extremely strong magnets as they could damage the paper map.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-09-07

DOES THIS MAP COME WITHOUT A FRAME? IF NOT DOES IT COME IN PAPER FORM

Asked by: LETTI
Thank you for your interest in the World Magnetic Travel Map with Burlwood Frame. We offer this map with several frame styles; however, it is not available without a frame.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-09-06

How do you monunt the map on the wall?

What is on the back of the map to assist with the mounting on the wall? Are there any instructions on how to mount the map on the wall?
Asked by: reggie818
the item already has wire mounted in the back so it's easy to mount. i used only one 75 lb wall hook to hold the map (it's much lighter but i wanted to be safe than sorry).
Answered by: skigem
Date published: 2017-09-23

What is behind the map that allows the magnets to adhere to the map

Is the parchment style paper strong enough so that it doesn't rip. I guess I would like to know how this map is made.
Asked by: Kat15
Thank you for your interest in the U.S. Magnetic Travel Map. This map has a magnetic sheet behind the thick parchment-style paper. It is designed to hold the magnets without ripping.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-06-28

Does the burled wood frame say Frontgate on it?

Some photos show a small label and others do not. Thx!
Asked by: MleM
April 2, 2017 Just received this map in burled wood, and neither the frame nor the map says Frontgate.
Answered by: Paki
Date published: 2017-06-03

If there is no glass that protects the parchment-style paper, what prevents the map from getting creased/discolored/worn?

Asked by: dimitri87
The map seems to be coated or laminated and is secured tightly to the backerboard. Glass would probably weaken magnetic pull too much.
Answered by: Paki
Date published: 2017-06-03

Good small magnets or bad big magnets?

Another poster (Mama potts) posted a question that I too would like answered. So far no one has answered her question so I will repost the same question here. "I'm very interested in purchasing this map but am concerned about the negative comments concerning the magnets. I will need to order additional magnets and I want to make sure they are the old smaller ones that used to come with the map and not the new big oversized ones referred to in those comments. I also want to confirm the 50 magnets that come with the map are also the old smaller ones that used to come with it." Please answer. I too would like to buy this map but not if it has the large bad magnets.
Asked by: Shopper11111
April 2 2017 - Just bought map and extra magnets and at this time they are all the same size- each about 3/8" tall.
Answered by: Paki
Date published: 2017-06-03

Dimensions with & without frame?

What are: -the dimensions of the map WITHOUT the frame? & -the dimensions of the map WITH the frame?
Asked by: Dickory
Thank you for your interest in the World Magnetic Travel Map with Burlwood Frame. The borders of this map inside the frame are 44.25”W x 27.25”H.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-12-05

Can I customize this when I order it? How/where?

I don't see any option to customize the name plate, can you please advise?
Asked by: Laressa
Thank you for your interest in the World Magnetic Travel Map with Burlwood Frame. The Personalized Plaque for Travel Map with Burlwood Frame is sold separately; please see item 144227 USW.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-12-20

Map size and frame color

The map size does not seem correct (dimensions reversed). Please confirm. Also, is the frame color closer to black when compared to your other magnetic maps? Thanks
Asked by: Kjewell1
Thank you for your interest in the Europe Travel Map. The frame of this map is mahogany and burl wood which is a darker brown than our current World Travel Maps. We are looking into the size listed and will correct any sizing errors as soon as possible. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2017-12-28

Magnets for the Map

I'm very interested in purchasing this map but am concerned about the negative comments concerning the magnets. I will need to order additional magnets and I want to make sure they are the old smaller ones that used to come with the map and not the new big oversized ones referred to in those comments. I also want to confirm the 50 magnets that come with the map are also the old smaller ones that used to come with it.
Asked by: Mommapotts123
Thank you for your interest in the World Magnetic Travel Map with Burlwood Frame. The magnets offered for this map were recently updated to be slightly larger due to new regulations. The magnet size that originally came with this map years ago is no the longer available.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-11-09

If I order this map for my son, can he receive a "gift certificate" for the labeling of the plate?

(I.E.) the magnetic plaque that you can get embossed with the family name, etc. He and his girlfriend aren't married yet, and I would like THEM to choose what to say....
Asked by: sheepherder
Thank you for your interest in the World Magnetic Travel Map with Burlwood Frame. The Personalized Plaque for Travel Map with Burlwood Frame (144227) is sold separately. If you would like your son to choose the personalization, we recommend purchasing the map as well as a Gift Card (FGCARD) or eGift Card for the price of the plaque.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-09-26

Is it possible to order extra magnets?

Asked by: rivahgal
Thank you for your interest in the World Magnetic Travel Map with Burlwood Frame. We do offer a Set of 50 Additional Magnets; see item 145686.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-11-22

Does this map come in Golden frame?

This map really looks great after lot of research online, so checking if this also comes in Golden frame? I assume this does not come with glass, so is it easy to maintain?
Asked by: Sona
Thank you for your interest in the World Magnetic Travel Map with Burlwood Frame. This map is currently only available in burlwood and antique white (145684 ANW) frame options. There is not glass, since the map is magnetic.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-08-19

Travel Magnets?

Can travel magnets be used on this board?
Asked by: himanshi
Thank you for your interest in the World Magnetic Travel Map with Burlwood Frame. Any magnets can be used on this item; however, we do not recommend using heavy magnets.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-07-14

Are the US state borders printed on the World maps?

Asked by: Carol13
Yes
Answered by: Waltuna
Date published: 2016-05-21

How do you order the magnetic plaque to go with this map?

I can't find the plaque item on the website to add it to the order!
Asked by: douglasncali
Thank you for your interest in the World Magnetic Travel Map with Burlwood Frame. The Personalized Plaque for Travel Map (144227) is featured lower on the web page.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-03-04

Is that an enlargement of Paris in bottom left corner? Does it show any notable landmarks, e.g., Eiffel Tower, and arrondissements?

Asked by: Jetjock71
The France Travel Map does list notable landmarks on the enlargement of Paris; however, this is a vintage map and could be difficult to read.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2016-02-22

May I get this with the gold frame instead?

Asked by: Lizdyer
Thank you for your interest in the U.S. Magnetic Travel Map. This item is currently only available with a mahogany and burled wood frame. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2018-01-11

Does it come in Different color frames?

Hello-In the magazine it said there were 2 other frame color options however' I don't see that option online. Can it come in other colors?
Asked by: Maplover
Thank you for your interest in the World Magnetic Travel Map with Burlwood Frame. This item is also available with an antique white frame. Please see item 145684 ANW.
Answered by: JLFrontgateService
Date published: 2015-11-24

How big is this map? The one in your catolog is the same size ans price as the world and US map

Asked by: SyossetLisa
The Europe Travel Map Personalized Plaque measures 3.5"L and 6.25" H. The map itself measures 37.5"W x 1.5"D X 53.25"H.
Answered by: MLRFrontgateService
Date published: 2015-01-08
  • y_2018, m_4, d_20, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_145684_BUR, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_frontgate
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 106ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Product:145684_BUR-World Magnetic Travel Map with Burlwood Frame

World Magnetic Travel Map with Burlwood Frame

Personalized Plaque for Travel Map with Burlwood Frame

Set of 50 Additional Magnets